Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chili's Crispy Honey-Chipotle Chicken Crispers ByTodd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili's Crispy Honey-Chipotle Chicken Crispers ByTodd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2011

      Oh my.... that was one of the best copies I have ever tried. make sure to buy the hidden valley dry mix and mix with buttermilk and hellmans mayo for the copy ranch dippin sauce and you will think you brought Chili's to your house. We have 4 teens and everyone said this is the best they have ever tasted. we doubled the batter and breading to feed 6 and tripled the sauce to be sure it was enough ( which of course was perfect ). Please take our word that this is nearly 100 percent in taste to our favorite dish and was a much better buy for a large family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Every single one of my picky eaters LOVED this recipe. I made it as-is the first time, and then started substituting ancho chili powder for chipotle ever since since my kiddos tend to prefer the sweeter flavor of ancho. I also serve the sauce on the side as a dipping sauce instead. Overall, this is one of our family favorites and everyone has said they like it even more than what they've eaten at Chili's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      This chicken is outstanding-- and really really easy to make, too! I am not a chef. I am not a spectacular cook, either. But a good recipe helps a novice cook like yours truly whip up something incredibly delicious. A few alterations: I did not have any broth, so I left it out. I also had only about 1/2 cup of honey, so I added some maple syrup to make the 2/3 cup I needed. Also, I did not have the chipotle powder, so I added a dash of chili powder. Last, I added some panko bread crumbs to the flour mixture to give it extra crunch. Those were basically my small changes. And believe me, the entire batch was polished off in 30 minutes flat! I made some baked beans and cornbread and voila! A nice, southern, comfort-filled meal! I will be adding this into my weekly rotation for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Made tonight. VERY EASY. I pan fried the tenders. I've never had this in the restaurant, but boy, it tastes just like a restaurant dish! Thanks! amber

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      I made these chicken crispers for my family. I made the recipe as is (but i double battered the chicken) for the boys in my family. For the women who are slightly more health conscious, I put the tenderloins in a baking pan, covered them with the honey-chipotle sauce, sprinkled them with panko, and baked in the oven until tender. Both turned out fabulous. I doubled the honey-chipotle sauce because I used more than the recipe called for and I know that when we go to Chili's my boyfriend always asks for an extra side. Very delicious. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This is delicious! My biggest warning is to watch your oil temperature. Mine was a bit hot at the start because I started heating it up a bit early.....my mistake. The breading, batter, and sauce are perfect together. Wonderful! This deserves to be in the best of 2010! Thanks for sharing it with us gailanng and michelles3boys!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This so SOOOOOOO GOOD! I love Chilies Honey Chipotle Chicken Crispers so as soon as I saw this recipe I decided to give it a try. The sauce is so excellent, we made extra, stored it and use it on multiple things in my house, chicken wraps, sandwiches, and as a dipping sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      Wickedly delicious. Used boullion cube. Why did I wait for so long before making this? Thank you so much for posting, and thank you Todd Wilbur for recreating this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      DH and I both love, love, love Chili%u2019s Honey-Chipotle Sauce so we really appreciate having this recipe. I served the sauce over grilled chicken thighs. Fantastic! I am going to try basting a ham with this sauce. If you can%u2019t find chipotle powder you can order it from the Santa Cruz Chili and Spice Co. Thanks you so much for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      this recipe was bomb. my family loved it, it tastes just like the one at chilis....i added panco bread crumbs to the flour to give it some more crispyness and i also used canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce instead of powder. I also put a little more vinegar to further cut the sweetness of the honey. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I made the sauce only, so my review is about only the sauce. It was WONDERFUL! Absolutely wonderful. The only substitution was white wine instead of vinegar because I can't stand the smell of vinegar. This sauce is quite spicy, so if you don't like a lot of heat, you may want to add less chipotle pepper. The first night we spooned it over B/S chicken that I had baked. The second night we had pre-made chicken strips and drizzled the sauce over them. It was even hotter than the night before. Tonight I made a double batch to use with country style boneless pork ribs. We LOVE this sauce. Thank you for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      Amazing..I'm am as we speak, figuring the ingredients to use to bake instead of fry to make it healthier. <br/>And I do agree with a previous review the chicken broth is a not needed ingredient. I totally forgot it and really it didn't make a difference either way,<br/><br/>I keeper in my recipe collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      Fabulous! Very tasty and crunchy chicken. I would serve the sauce separately for dipping, since the crunch was gone after tossing the chicken in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      Made this last night and the sauce didn't thicken at all. Then I tasted it and it didn't Taste anything near chili's Chipotle chicken. It wasn't very good it just tasted like honey I was very disappointed, I just froze the rest of the cooked chicken tenders and I'll reheat them once I make orange chicken sauce for them cuz I threw this recipes away it was nasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      This is 100% spot on!!! Thank you so very much for posting this recipe. =) I only wish I could give this more then 5 stars!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      Wow! These were amazing and so easy to make! They are almost an exact copy of Chili's! I didn't have any chipotle chili pepper. So I substituted with some chili powder. I'm so glad I found this recipe. We don't have a Chili's where I live. After making these, it feels like I just got some Chili's To Go!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Loved this recipe...husband loved it. Comes close to Chili's chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      This is amazing! It's very close to the original recipe. I think it has a little too much honey though. Next time I make it I am going to substitute sugar for some of the honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I found these to be enjoyable, but with one significant drawback. I made the recipe exactly, however skipped the sauce because I'm not a fan. I found the chicken broth to be overpowering and recommend using only half what is called for - personally, I'll skip it next time. Otherwise, iI liked it. I also hoped they would come out with the breading texture/style that Chili's have but that's insignificant. This was the first chicken fingers I made with my first fryer and I was pleased, minus the broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      I've never had the Chili's version of this chicken, so I don't know how it compares, but I do know that this recipe itself is DELICIOUS, and one I'll definitely be making again. The only change I made was for the chipotle in the sauce - I couldn't find chipotle powder, so I used 2 finely-chopped canned chipotles in adobo. Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili's Crispy Honey-Chipotle Chicken Crispers ByTodd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.9
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    11%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 49.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 2331.4 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.2 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 51.8 g
    207%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken tenderloins


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes