These are heavily adapted from a recipe in "The Garden of Vegan." Obviously, you need to use vegan soy eggnog to make these vegan. You could certainly use regular eggnog, they just wouldn't be vegan. The original recipe said to use whatever flour you wanted. I was trying to use up what I had. Whole wheat would work just fine here. These aer not intensely eggnog flavored, just have a nice undertone.