Spelt (Wheat-Free) Popovers

"I started to make my batter bun recipe (Look for my gluten free batter buns!)and I added some tapioca flour to see how it would work as well as Xanthum Gum, and when I opened my oven to take them out when they were done baking, like were like a popover, as they had popped up! They were delicious and they are very easy to make. I don't have a popover pan, so I was just using a muffin pan, and they turned out fine with it, but if you have a popover pan, you may probably be able to use it. These are also dairy free, as I used a gluten free, dairy free butter! Enjoy! **UPDATE** I have received a couple of e-mails telling me that spelt is a form of wheat and is not at all acceptable in a gluten free diet. I have a Bob's Red Mill baking cookbook that says that Spelt is a cousin of wheat and is found to be tolerated by some of those that are allergic to wheat. Trader Joe's has a spelt bread that the label says the same, that some celiacs have found to be able to eat Spelt flour. I am new at using a gluten free diet (It's for my daughter who is autistic, but not allergic to wheat), so I am sorry if this has confused anyone. You could try using a wheat/gluten free flour for the popovers and see if they still come out ok! Sorry about any confusion."
photo by a food.com user photo by a food.com user
Ready In:
12 Popovers




  • In a large bowl, whisk in the yeast to the warm water and stir well. Let it sit for about 3 minutes.
  • Add the sugar and with an electric beater, mix well. Add the softened butter and egg and using the mixer continue to stir.
  • Add the flours and xanthum gum. Stir in the flour well with a spatula. The dough should be a little bit thicker than a muffin batter, but not as stiff as a bread dough. If it is too dry, add a little more water so thin it out some.
  • Grease a muffin pan (or a popover pan if you have one) with some buttered flavor pan spray.
  • With a ice cream scooper, scoop out into individual muffin cups.
  • Bake for about 15-18 minutes at 350 degrees.
  • Allow to cool for a few minutes before serving. Serve warm.

Questions & Replies

Got a question? Share it with the community!


  1. Spelt is a form of wheat and is not gluten free.
  2. This is not a gluten free recipe. Spelt is absolutely forbidden on a gluten free diet.



Find More Recipes