Originally marshmallows were made from the marsh mallow root and were a throat lozenge. The common candy is now made with gelatin and contains no marsh mallow root. This recipe is 100% kosher. Vegetarian / contains egg (no gelatin)
cups water (Water of orange flowers for aroma or instead of plain water)
egg white, well beaten
Serving Size: 1 (873) g
Servings Per Recipe:
AMT. PER SERVING% DAILY VALUE
Calories from Fat 0 g0 %
Total Fat 0 g0 %
Saturated Fat 0 g0 %
Cholesterol 0 mg
Sodium 5 mg
Dietary Fiber 0 g0 %
Sugars 24 g96 %
Protein 0.2 g
Make sure the mallow roots aren't moldy or too woody. Marshmallow gives off almost twice its own weight of mucilaginous gel when placed in water.
Make a tea of marshmallow roots by simmering in a pint of water for twenty to thirty minutes. Add additional water if it simmers down. Strain out the roots.
Heat the gum and marshmallow decoction (water) in a double boiler until they are dissolved together. Strain with pressure.
Stir in the sugar as quickly as possible. When dissolved, add the well beaten egg whites, stirring constantly, but take off the fire and continue to stir. Lay out on a flat surface. Let cool, and cut into smaller pieces.