Non-Dairy Caramel Sauce

"Upon responding to a recipe request here at Zaar, I came across this recipe on the web, but do not remember where I found it. This was posted for a non-dairy version of the caramel sauce in the Cinnamon-Roasted Pears with Dried Cherries and Caramel Sauce recipe. Amount made is an estimate. Hope you enjoy!"
photo by  Pamela photo by  Pamela
photo by Pamela
photo by  Pamela photo by  Pamela
photo by  Pamela photo by  Pamela
Ready In:
1 cup


  • 12 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 12 cup sugar
  • 12 cup rich non-dairy coffee creamer (full strength, do not water down)
  • 2 tablespoons dairy-free margarine (Fleishmans unsalted is recommended)


  • In a saucepan, combine brown sugar, sugar, creamer and margarine.
  • Bring to a boil over moderate heat while stirring constantly until sugar is dissolved.
  • Use in place of your favorite caramel sauce.

Questions & Replies

  1. Do you need to refrigerate the non-dairy caramel sauce? I want to make some for gift baskets.


  1. FANTASTIC!!! my wife who is allergic to dairy hasnt had caramel since she was a child weput it over icecream and fell in love with it. I used silk cremer and nuccoa margerine and it was awesome, thanks.
  2. OH wow! Bobtail thank you soooo much. I love caramel and I'm glad I found your recipe. I was playing around in the kitchen and decided to use this caramel sauce in a cookie recipe I was experimenting with (made up myself) and I used the leftover sauce for a sliced Granny Smith apple. Very sweet, rich, nice caramel taste. I used Silk brand non-dairy coffee creamer and Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil. I also halved the recipe. Not sure how this would keep in the fridge, but a half recipe made just over 1/2 cup of sauce. Thanks again, a definite keeper! :)
  3. Easy to make and delicious! I used french vanilla coffee creamer and the taste was amazing. I used this to top Apple Streusel Cheesecake recipe #64355 and it was a perfect addition. Thanks for posting this!
  4. "Non dairy" creamer is not actually dairy free. It contains casein which is milk protein. This recipe could be dangerous for people with serious milk allergies.
  5. Wonderful! Dairy-allergy commenters, please read: Yes, casein used to be a problem in many products, but no longer. Check those ingredient lists of all the products you thought you couldn't have, and you'll find nearly all of them have now figured out how to get rid of casein. So, enjoy! From Silk: "...all Silk products are dairy-free, lactose-free and casein-free."



Find More Recipes