Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zuppa Di Pesce, Cioppino, or Fish Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zuppa Di Pesce, Cioppino, or Fish Stew

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2007

      The soup fit my current low cal, low carb diet perfectly and I knew by looking at the ingredients that this recipe had to be a winner and it was. What a great flavored soup! I used Knorr shrimp bouillon instead of the shrimp stock and I used a jar of marinara sauce as a substitute for one of the cans of tomatoes. I also added more garlic and a few dashes of hot sauce. Yummm.....the flavors simply danced in my mouth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      YUMMO! Great mix of flavors and so healthy.. A Keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I fixed this for our dinner the other night and all I can say is WOW!! I cut the recipe in half used 3/4 of a can of diced tomatoes (28 oz. italian), about 1 1/2 cups of crushed tomatoes and used a piece of sea bass, one tilapia fillet, some shrimp and almost 1/2 a package of Trader Joe's Seafood mix (put shrimp and the seafood mix in towards the end till cooked). I did add a little (about 1/4 tsp.) of fennel seed along with the other spices and followed the rest of the recipe. I did use kale, which we loved because it retains some of its texture and doesn't get mushy. Thank you for another wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is very good. My son thought their were too many veggies in it. I think the fennel was a bit much for him. I think I would have liked it better with three 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes instead of 2 28 oz cans. I loved using the broth made from the shrimp shells. And I think the white wine is a good choice. A lot of the recipes call for red wine and I think that would be way too overpowering. I used haddock as the fish and it was very nice. I think jumbo shrimp would be the best choice. I used large and they shrunk quite a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This stew is delicious. Don't let the long list of ingredients put you off from making this dish - it is well worth it. We put cod in ours but think tilapia would be better. We put absolutely everything in it - including the anchovies - and it was delicious. We served this over rice and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      Made half the recipe last night and it was quite good. I followed the recipe exactly and would make it again. Next time, I will cook the shrimp shells a little longer to intensify the flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Just made this last night on request for my Italian boyfriend who said he loved Zuppa Di Pesce. Honestly I was not even sure what that was when he first asked. Well I must say this soup was over the top fabulous! I made it to the T as directed! My boyfriend said it was the best soup he had ever tasted and ate 3 bowls! I just had some left over a minute ago and wow it really is so good! Thanks for this recipe I will make it again for sure! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Outstanding 5-star recipe! I made this exactly as written except using white button mushrooms instead of shiitake. Also, I didn't realize until we were eating I forgot the seafood mix, which I got specifically for this dish! Oh well, it was great without it, and now this gives me a reason to make this again soon! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Delish! Made for a dinner party for 8 people. There was plenty. I don't know if it would have fed 15, but certainly 10 because we have a nice bowl of leftovers for tonight. I have made many a cioppino over the years, but I think this is my favourite recipe so far. Sometimes there just isn't enough in this dish aside from fish and tomatoes. This recipe has such a nice blend of flavours. Don't be tempted to leave out the fennel, I think it's one of the best parts!! I did leave out the shiitake and anchovies just because I didn't have any. I made the sauce in the morning, and then left it in the crock pot all day to 'stew'. Put it back on the stove with the seafood and fish about 40 mins before serving. Pull out your big pot for this one, you'll need it! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      This was sooo good! I did not use the anchovies or the fennel (couldn't find it), but did everything else the same. Loved it! I'm sure the leftovers will be even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Thank you for the recipe. I dislike fennel so did not use it and substituted spinach for kale. I also threw a pound of steamers in for kicks. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Fantastic recipe! I think it's more than two servings, which is fine by me ;-) I didn't have a lemon so I used lime zest and it came out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This soup is hearty, healthy and absolutely delicious! It has become an immediate favorite for DH and I. To suit our own taste preferences, we have opted to substitue spinach for the kale and use more shrimp and scallops in lieu of the clams. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      The flavors in this "Zuppa" were outstanding. Someone wanted a glass to drink the liquid... but I said no no no.... I followed the recipe exactly but I think next time I would use spinach rather then kale... Just a personal choice. I did use one pound each of shrimp, cod, scallops, small clams, and mixed seafood with octopus, squid, clams, shrimp and scallops. Thanks for a great recipe Rita... Everyone rated it at least a 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zuppa Di Pesce, Cioppino, or Fish Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 65.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 752.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 18.9 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    shrimp stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites