Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2009

      This was a keeper! I did make a few changes, however. I didn't have butter flavored crackers so I substituted stove top stuffing mix and instead of using it as a topping I mixed it in and didn't drain the squash. Also I skipped the seasoning mix. Very good!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I made this for a work lunch today- it was really yummy! We have so many squash and zucchini from my parents garden, so this helped to use those extra vegetables. I think everyone really enjoyed it...several people asked for the recipe, so...that's always a good sign :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Look no futher for the 'best ever' squash casserole! It is more than good, it is great! This casserole will be a star whenever you take it to a potluck. No changes needed, that is for sure! Yummy, Cheesy! Smile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I too got this recipe from Paula Dean's Lady and Son's cook book. This is a great and easy recipe. I did change a few things though. I only used summer squash and I cooked my onion in with my squash to cut back on butter. I also add a little chicken boilion to my squash while it is cooking. Then I used 2% sharp chedder, reduced fat sour cream and whole wheat ritz crackers. These changes had very little impact on the great flavor, but a big impact on calorie intake. Great recipe thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Great recipe! I saw someone comment about using 1 cup of salt - the recipe is calling for a "House Seasoning" - the 1 cup of salt is mixed with 1/4c black pepper and 1/4c garlic powder of which once mixed you use 1 teaspoon of ... hee hee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      My husband and I loved it! I used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar,and cut out the crackers, and it was still fabulous! I also added chayote to the mix, which helped a little with texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I was skeptical about the Ritz crackers, but after tasting the finished dish, can't think of anything better. Also appreciated use of "house seasoning" which personalizes the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Wow! I fed 6 adults with this, and we were fighting over scraping the dish for the last bits. Very delicious! I didn't have zucchini, so I used 6 cups of yellow squash. So tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Defintly a winner! onyl change is i added eggplant becouse i diddnt have enough zuchini but will do they same next time becouse it all blended really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Delicious! NOTE: Do not use the entire house seasoning recipe. :) I am sure that is there so you can use at tsp or two to season up the squash mixture, but I can't imagine anyone wanting a cup of salt in this dish. The recipe says to add "all ingredients together" so I just wanted to make sure I clarified that to avoid anyone spoiling this delicious dish. I used reduced fat sour cream, 2% milk sharp cheddar and whole wheat crackers. If you are in a hurry I would suggest slicing the squash instead of cutting it into a large dice because it took me almost 45 minutes to get the squash broken down at medium low from starting with a "large dice." When you add that to the 25 minutes it takes to bake it becomes pretty time consuming but worth it! Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      I think this is the best zucchini/squash casserole I have ever made! Instead of "steaming" the zucchini, I sauté in small batches over medium high heat so they would brown and it wasn't watery at all. (Thus omitting the squeezing out part). I also caramelized the onions. I didn't have Ritz crackers but used saltines and still used the 1 t. of House Seasoning and it didn't seem too salty to me but then again, I like salt! I melted the butter to make a cracker crumb topping. Delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this...yes it is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      This is delicious in spite of my modifications based on what I had on hand. I only had 3 medium sized yellow squash which gave me 7 cups of a medium dice. I used it all (hate waste). I sauted the onion along with the squash and the tsp. of 'house seasoning'. Then I drained this mixture in a fine seive colander and pressed out excess liquid with a spatula (no towel). Poured this into lg bowl along with the rest of the ingredients. I added another tsp of the 'House seasoning' to compensate for whatever was lost in the drain of the squash liquid. I was short on cheddar cheese so I supplemented that with Monterey Jack. This mix fit perfectly in an 8"x8" square pyrex dish. I topped this with 1 sleeve (1 1/2 cups) of crushed Ritz crackers mixed with 2 tblsp melted butter. Baked as directed. Yummy. Thanks for posting. Update, 4 hours later: OMG, this is soooo good.Even better with time, and a nice change from the typical 'Italian' based / flavored squash recipes. I could eat the whole thing, but want to save some for my DIL who gave me the squash. Thanks again DebbiF, for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I can't believe I'm giving a meatless dish 5 stars, but there it is! This was phenomenal. I made it for a potluck and people were going back for seconds and thirds. They raved about it and asked for the recipe. A friend who detests both squash AND zucchini even loved it!
      I wasn't sure about the measurements, so I used 2 medium zucchini's and 3 summer squashes. It came out perfectly! The ritz complimented the dish perfectly. I might try to add chicken next time for a real entree casserole. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      This is the BEST zucchini/squash casserole I've ever had! We made it two days in a row! Even my 18-month old said, "Num, num, nummy!" LOL Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This is a very good squash casserole. I just used salt and pepper for the seasoning, and instead of Ritz crackers (I was out), I used butter garlic croutons, crushed. This gave it the garlic flavor. My squash still had quite a bit of shape after sauteeing, so there was no need to drain. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      This casserole was very good. The seasoning just made it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Made today for a pot luck at school. I thought it was really good and was able to use up some of the tons of squash I'm getting out of the garden. I'm sure I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      you cant go wrong with Paula Dean :), however I left out the sour cream to make it a little crunchier. I liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      yummmmm!!! Love Paula Dean too - any of her recipes are fabulous! thx for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.4
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    64%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 50.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 19152.7 mg
    798%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites