16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I sauted the vegetables in bit of olive oil instead of boiling them, then added some extra milk. I also used low-fat sharp cheddar cheese. It made a great meal together with some beans in mole sauce. My husband described it as "quiche-y" but it was a good balance of heartiness and fresh vegetables. Thanks for a different way to use zucchini.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Podkayne August 11, 2010

I really enjoyed this recipe. The mix of vegetables was just right, however this was more like a vegetable casserole than a bread. I made it just as the recipe stated except i did add about 2 tablespoons of cheese to the top (this was what was left in my bag). I will probably make this again but would double everything but the veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarynne November 20, 2006

I made this recipe because I liked the combination of ingredients. I didn't realize it would be so visually appealing as well! It's also absolutely delicious and has become a family favorite already. I used ingredients I had on hand so I used red and orange bell peppers rather than the green. For the cheese I used some pre-shredded cheddar-jack. I did not add the jalapenos, instead I used some of Rita L's dried crushed red pepper and garlic blend I had on hand. I did add a few dashes of Tabasco and I baked it at 250° for about 90 minutes as I was baking something else at that temperature at the time. We loved this Barb, thanks so much for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude December 05, 2004

So delicious, I couldn't leave it alone in the pan. I didn't have cheddar, so used some muffaletta (garlic & olive cheese) and it was still fantastic. I used both the jalape?os *and* the hot sauce (I love spicy). I was just shocked at how good this was. I'm going to make it again this week! Thanks a lot for the recipe. Really easy and really tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bipolypesca September 19, 2012

I wanted to give 4.5 stars. A nice comforting meal, though could use with more spice than is listed in the ingredients. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. I used 2 hot red peppers, but should have used 4. So if you are making the regular amount, use at least 2 hot peppers. I substituted rice milk and a goat's milk cheddar. I found cooking time to be way off, nearly double what is listed-- but I did make a double recipe, so I don't know how that relates.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni May 21, 2009

Delicious, with very easy to follow directions. We are just 2, so had this as a main dish for dinner last night. It was great- really flavorful and fresh tasting. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM May 07, 2009

Wasn't sure what to expect from this one. In the end I'd say it seems somewhere between quiche(ish) and polenta(ish) lol Very good, simple side dish that I'm sure I'll make again. Used canned diced tomatoes, canned corn and red peppers - I'd rename it something like southwestern spoon bread myself, or maybe corn casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 26, 2009

Wow this stuff is great. It's so low calorie and hits the spot for warm comfort food. I used lowfat cheddar cheese and it still came out great. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorigeraci February 15, 2009

Well, you've done it again, Barb...this is terrific! Not only does it taste great but it also looks pretty and appetizing. The only change I made was to use drained, diced tomatoes. For the hot sauce I used Louisiana hot sauce but I couldn't taste it so think I'll try Tobasco next time. Thanks, Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 21, 2007

Another winner, Barb. Looks beautifully appetizing, tastes delicious. And not much work. I made it exactly as recipe states and don't see any need for changes. It only took 35 minutes in my oven. Great with fresh veggies. Thanks for sharing. Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski October 17, 2006
Zucchini Spoon Bread