Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Spoon Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Spoon Bread

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2010

      I sauted the vegetables in bit of olive oil instead of boiling them, then added some extra milk. I also used low-fat sharp cheddar cheese. It made a great meal together with some beans in mole sauce. My husband described it as "quiche-y" but it was a good balance of heartiness and fresh vegetables. Thanks for a different way to use zucchini.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      I really enjoyed this recipe. The mix of vegetables was just right, however this was more like a vegetable casserole than a bread. I made it just as the recipe stated except i did add about 2 tablespoons of cheese to the top (this was what was left in my bag). I will probably make this again but would double everything but the veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      I made this recipe because I liked the combination of ingredients. I didn't realize it would be so visually appealing as well! It's also absolutely delicious and has become a family favorite already. I used ingredients I had on hand so I used red and orange bell peppers rather than the green. For the cheese I used some pre-shredded cheddar-jack. I did not add the jalapenos, instead I used some of Rita L's dried crushed red pepper and garlic blend I had on hand. I did add a few dashes of Tabasco and I baked it at 250° for about 90 minutes as I was baking something else at that temperature at the time. We loved this Barb, thanks so much for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      So delicious, I couldn't leave it alone in the pan. I didn't have cheddar, so used some muffaletta (garlic & olive cheese) and it was still fantastic. I used both the jalape?os *and* the hot sauce (I love spicy). I was just shocked at how good this was. I'm going to make it again this week! Thanks a lot for the recipe. Really easy and really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I wanted to give 4.5 stars. A nice comforting meal, though could use with more spice than is listed in the ingredients. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. I used 2 hot red peppers, but should have used 4. So if you are making the regular amount, use at least 2 hot peppers. I substituted rice milk and a goat's milk cheddar. I found cooking time to be way off, nearly double what is listed-- but I did make a double recipe, so I don't know how that relates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Delicious, with very easy to follow directions. We are just 2, so had this as a main dish for dinner last night. It was great- really flavorful and fresh tasting. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Wasn't sure what to expect from this one. In the end I'd say it seems somewhere between quiche(ish) and polenta(ish) lol Very good, simple side dish that I'm sure I'll make again. Used canned diced tomatoes, canned corn and red peppers - I'd rename it something like southwestern spoon bread myself, or maybe corn casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Wow this stuff is great. It's so low calorie and hits the spot for warm comfort food. I used lowfat cheddar cheese and it still came out great. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Well, you've done it again, Barb...this is terrific! Not only does it taste great but it also looks pretty and appetizing. The only change I made was to use drained, diced tomatoes. For the hot sauce I used Louisiana hot sauce but I couldn't taste it so think I'll try Tobasco next time. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Another winner, Barb. Looks beautifully appetizing, tastes delicious. And not much work. I made it exactly as recipe states and don't see any need for changes. It only took 35 minutes in my oven. Great with fresh veggies. Thanks for sharing. Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I've never had spoon bread so didn't know what to expect. Very good although my kids were suspect. I added one hot pepper but next time I will add a couple more. Needed a bit more kick for us. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Vry good and very pretty with the mixture of colors..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      I had to modify this to make it vegan, but the basic flavors were unchanged and it is delicious. Next time I will add nutritional yeast, which boosts the flavor and nutrition of vegan foods, and will also add scallions. Love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      I needed something to do with my zucchini, and decided to try this based on the good reviews. I really wasn't expecting it to turn out so delicious! I think the corn added a great touch, it made the whole dish sweeter. I of course modified it according to what I had in the house. It thought this was just going to be like a quiche, but it was much different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I chose this recipe because it called for a variety of ingredients I could pull right out of my garden. I agree with the other reviewer that said it's a very visually appealing dish. It also tastes great! One thing I noticed was that it turned out a little on the dry side - I think I cooked away all the water in step 1; next time I may add a drizzle of cooking oil when I mix the eggs with the veggies and cornmeal. My wife and mother-in-law both liked this, so I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Made this yesturday and had it cold for last nights tea. Very filling and tasty. Didn't have any zucchini so added mixed veg. The smell while cooking was devine. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Spoon Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    44%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 84.7 mg
    28%
    Sodium 360.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes