107 Reviews

Awesome! Tastes like a mango or peach salsa, nice blend of sweet and spicy. I used 5 jalapenos and 2 unknown hot peppers and that seems to have done the job. I would never have guessed there was zucchini in it. From the reviews, this seems like on recipe that would be hard to mess up, you can add extra this or that without changing the taste too much ( I think I had a couple extra cups of zucchini...). Ended up with about 8 pints last night and they have all been spoken for by this afternoon. Back to the garden!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 July 17, 2010

Another 5 star review! My boys said this was their favorite salsa yet! An there goes a bunch of zucchini. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff July 11, 2010

Wonderful, but different that traditional salsa - sweet & tangy. We LOVED it and I will definitely be making it again with my summer bounty this year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kezoo July 10, 2010

We love this recipe! I've been making it for a couple of years now and our friends and family always ask for the recipe. I've even changed it a little for just regular salsa when we don't have any zucchini. My husband likes to call it THE EX-WIFE SALSA because its sweet in the beginning and burns you in the end. LOL

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cki July 06, 2010

I made it (almost) exactly as described and it was excellent. The only variation was that I accidentally put in a little extra cumin. People seemed to like that. This recipe is a good way to use excess zucchini. Everyone we have served it to has loved it as well. The red pepper flakes give it just enough zip or our tastes. Give it a try - even the nutmeg, you won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metom925 October 15, 2009

This recipe turned out wonderful, just the right bite to it!! It was also my first time canning and it turned out great!! Thanks for posting the recpie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmrhodes25 September 22, 2009

So, so good! I made this with my MIL last weekend! It came together quickly and tastes great! The only thing she did differently was to use Kosher salt in place of pickling salt. Thanks for posting, Bergy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me & Mr. Jones September 15, 2009

Sorry to have be to be the first one not to give this recipe 5 stars. I followed this recipe exactly as written and it tastes like a salty taco. There really needs to be a correction in day 2. It states to add the salt twice! I hoped to get more of a salsa flavor. I do really love the idea of using zucchini so maybe with less cumin and less salt along with fresh garlic, cilantro and lime it may be worth a second try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
despaw99 August 10, 2015

My husband loves this recipe. I made it two years ago and he told me to stop trying any other salsa recipes. He likes heat so I added three jalapenos. I'm in the middle of making him a year's worth of this stuff. I've done 27 pints so far using home grown zucs, onions and jalapenios. And I'm not done yet :) I always do the water bath and I leave a 1/2" clearnace in the jars. That seems to do the trick for me sealing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoeBfromNY July 30, 2015

This is the best salsa ever!! Has a sweet start then a hot finish. Not too hot but just right! My grown kids kept begging for more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurawallingford March 14, 2015
Zucchini Salsa, Canned