Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Salsa, Canned Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Salsa, Canned

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2010

      Awesome! Tastes like a mango or peach salsa, nice blend of sweet and spicy. I used 5 jalapenos and 2 unknown hot peppers and that seems to have done the job. I would never have guessed there was zucchini in it. From the reviews, this seems like on recipe that would be hard to mess up, you can add extra this or that without changing the taste too much ( I think I had a couple extra cups of zucchini...). Ended up with about 8 pints last night and they have all been spoken for by this afternoon. Back to the garden!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Another 5 star review! My boys said this was their favorite salsa yet! An there goes a bunch of zucchini. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Wonderful, but different that traditional salsa - sweet & tangy. We LOVED it and I will definitely be making it again with my summer bounty this year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      We love this recipe! I've been making it for a couple of years now and our friends and family always ask for the recipe. I've even changed it a little for just regular salsa when we don't have any zucchini. My husband likes to call it THE EX-WIFE SALSA because its sweet in the beginning and burns you in the end. LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I made it (almost) exactly as described and it was excellent. The only variation was that I accidentally put in a little extra cumin. People seemed to like that. This recipe is a good way to use excess zucchini. Everyone we have served it to has loved it as well. The red pepper flakes give it just enough zip or our tastes. Give it a try - even the nutmeg, you won't be disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This recipe turned out wonderful, just the right bite to it!! It was also my first time canning and it turned out great!! Thanks for posting the recpie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      So, so good! I made this with my MIL last weekend! It came together quickly and tastes great! The only thing she did differently was to use Kosher salt in place of pickling salt. Thanks for posting, Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      I made this last year and it has been gone since January :(. I just made my first batch of the year and excited to have enough tomatoes for another. I have also mixed it in with my chili and it was the best chili I ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      Great recipe!! I didn't use the second tablespoon of salt and also added one hot pepper and two shakes of Tabasco Sauce to the batch as it was cooking. I didn't need to add the Tabasco! It's right on the edge of being too hot...which is perfect!! I love the combination of hot, sweet, tangy. Thanks for posting this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      This salsa was A LOT of work!!!!!<br/>But so worth it. My whole family loved it.<br/>Good use of all my garden veggies..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      We were given one HUGE zucchini and needed a way to use it up. Since there's only 2 of us in this house new canning was the way to go. When I saw this knew I had to try it and Bergy's I knew it'd be good. Well I was right, it's fairly straight forward with clear directions and turned out great - I did add a jalapeno with seeds to spice it up a little and love the outcome. The house smelled wonderful as it simmered. I followed your directions to the letter (except for only adding ONE jalapeno) and the spices were all the perfect compliment to this salsa. I can see so many uses for it - on eggs in the morning, as a dip for appetizers, from now on I'm pulling this one out every year come harvest time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      This was delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      I love this recipe but am happy I didn't put all the sugar in; I lost my nerve after 1/8 C. It took the edge off the acidity but the salsa stayed wonderfully tangy. Also diced unpeeled zuch and ours stayed very chunky, not at all watery. This is a new top favorite for us; can't stop eating this stuff. Thanks for another great one Bergy.<br/><br/>Edit: I made this again & grated the zucc (as recipe states) instead of finely chopping it like I did the 1st time. HATED the texture of grated zucc mixed w/ the tomatoes. Slim-o-rama City. I put it in a food processor in batches and broke it down and it came out just fine. Those long shreds... ugh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      This is so good! I followed the advice of some other reviewers and chopped the zucchini instead of shredding it. I also left out the cornstarch and tomato paste. I thickened it using powder that I made from dehydrated tomato skins and seeds left over from the canning process, last year. This is a great way to use up zucchini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I love love this salsa..but I was just wondering if recipe was tested for canning. .thanks becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I added nothing and removed nothing. This recipe is amazing and was one of my regular Christmas gifts last year. I generally beg people for Zucchini so I can make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Amazing Recipe!!!! Deserves More then five stars. After reading all the reviews I also tweaked it to suit my families taste. I chopped the zucchini instead of shredding it and used an assortment of cherry tomatoes from my garden (needed to use them up). I omitted the chili flakes and sugar. I substituted chipoltle chile instead for a smokier taste. It turned out marvelously and I will be making this with the rest of the zucchini and tomato i harvest this year

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Okay I'm the idiot today. Have you ever read a recipe over and over looking for something and not see it??? I read this recipe over and over and didn't see the second addition of salt. So I wrote Bergy and Asked her about it. Then I went and reread it ONE more time and voila there it was...so, now that I know what to do with recipe I can continue on. I can already tell this is going to be a super salsa. I've made it with my own zukes, onions, peppers, and tomatoes so it's got that just picked and put up flavor too! Can't wait. Thanks Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I am not sure if I didn't rinse the zucchini well enough, but I find the salsa very salty. Next time I make this, I will cut back on the sugar, and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      This was sooooooooooo easy and really good. I had an incredible amount of zucchini this year and making zucchini bread was going to automatically make me gain 15 pounds. I did use my food processor to shred it all, so it was more like chopped. But, my kids don't know the difference between this salsa and regular salsa. I use a jar of it when I make tacos, great way to get them to eat their veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Salsa, Canned

    Serving Size: 1 (4248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.9
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    51%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3826.5 mg
    159%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 34.9 g
    139%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites