105 Reviews

This is wonderful, made half a recipe. Used Splenda rather than sugar, we can't eat the sugar. Instead of red pepper flakes I added a small can of chilies, and a few flakes of Jalapeno dried peppers. Also about 1/2 cup cilantro. I sterilized the jars by using my steamer cannier processing for about ten minutes. The steamer cannier is 100% better than the usual water bath.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliesmom September 04, 2010

Very tasty! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 5 good sized jalapenos and cutting the sugar back to about a half a cup as we don't care for really sweet salsa's. Nice balance of hot and sweet, hubby didn't know there was zucchini in it until I told him. Made 5 pints which I processed and a small tub to snack on leftover. Love the use of zucchini past the typical bread/cake! Absolutely a keeper for next summer.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 July 27, 2010

I have made 2 batches in the past 2 weeks. I make my own tomato salsa receipe but this is a really nice change. I found the first batch too sweet for my liking which is just me so the second I cut the sugar to a 1/2 cup and added an extra 1/2 tbs of hot peppers which made it perfect for me. It is nice and thick and chunky! I dont even like cumin but it was fine in this. I did process mine for 15 min in a hot water bath (same as I would for zucchini relish) because I dont feel it is safe just sealing jars - I know many people do but I personally wont take the risk.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara August 11, 2009

Wow! Even confirmed salsa haters say they like this one! We found this recipe had ample heat as is. We like it so much.....does anyone have any zucchini they would like to get rid of?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingwLove October 22, 2003

I had so many zucchini and was wondering what to make. This is what I found. OMG! It is outstanding. I used half of the sugar and added 12 jalapeno peppers that I had left in the garden. I also puréed the mixture since my family does not like chunky salsa. I will be making more because I have more zucchini growing. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pjcv63rn August 15, 2013

Great way to use up zucchini from the garden! It was a little sweet for us, so next time I might cut back on the sugar some. Also added 5 jalapenos with seeds, but next time will add more as we prefer salsa with a little kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook July 28, 2011

It's December in freezing cold Minnesota, and I am enjoying the bounty from my garden in this salsa. I've given a few pints of it away, but no more. I don't want to run out! Yum. Thanks Bergy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliegirl December 14, 2010

Fanstatic! I used double the amount of tomatoes, and did two separate batches. One with all Mr. Stripey and Great Whites, the other with Roma. Didnt have green or red peppers so i substituted a bunch of whatever I could find in the garden. Turned out amazing, great colors and the flavor pops due to the 15 or so Fooled Ya Jalps in there. Making another batch today, talk about too many zucchini and a great way to use them. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NE 420 Chef September 03, 2010

This is wonderful!!! I have made 1 batch each night the past 2 nights. It is really easy, cut it up the night before and the next day after lunch finish it up. I'd leave a cup of two out so we could have it with chips. Everyone just loves this recipe and what a great way to use up my extra zucchini! Thank you for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag Game ~ Summer 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 13, 2010

I forgot to give my rating any stars... I would give this more than five if I could! Thanks again Bergy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flourgirl51 August 10, 2010
Zucchini Salsa, Canned