Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Salsa, Canned Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Salsa, Canned

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2001

      What an awesome way to use up my zucchini (there always seems to be too much). This recipe surprised my friends and family who couldn't believe there was more zucchini than tomato in it. We found it was plenty hot with only 5 jalepenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      I read every one of the reviews and considered many of the suggestions and tips given. I made a double batch, cutting the cornstarch and sugar in half. No nutmeg, but I did add 1/2 cup of dried cilantro. I used part brown and white sugars as well as half lemon juice and vinegar; I did add more sugar later to balance the flavor. I doubled the red pepper flakes and used a quart of jalapenos, not too spicy hot and not mild a notch above medium, it has a lively after kick. I ended up with 12 pint, 3 quart, and 1 (24 ounce) jars of salsa (19 ½ pints). I did the water bath because I%u2019ve heard too many horror stories regarding botulism and canning. Anyway, it looked like I had used too much zucchini, and the favor was alright. I waited as long as I could to taste the finished salsa, 1 day after pretty good, 2 days later, real good and the zucchini is not noticeable at all. If I have some left by the Christmas and New Year holidays it should be really good. It seems to get better with age, like a good wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      Wonderful flavour! I added 6 home grown jalapeno peppers, 1 home grown habanero pepper (gives it some heat) and 1/2 a yellow pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      I've made 3 batches of this recipe is the last 2 weeks. It uses up lots of zucchini and I think it tastes better than the reg. salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      Thanks one can never have too many zucchini recipes! I'm going to make a batch with Sugar substitute for my diabetic friends.Just the right price for a Christmas gift too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      Bergy, Loved this recipe! Changed it just a bit...used small zucchini, left them unpeeled and diced fine. (Gave the salsa a nice chunky texture.) Also halved the vinegar and omitted the cornstarch. I have 12 gorgeous pints of this salsa setting on the cupboard...It is almost too pretty to store away! Thanks for posting. Barb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Wonderful, I had no idea what to do with all my zucchini and squash from the garden. I matched zucchini and squash then added about 1 1/2 cups crushed pineapple for a bit of sweetness. Everyone raves about it. Thanx Again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      I was given a case of zucchini, so I made this salsa, and I love the flavor too! I got exactly 5 pints.Thanks for a great way to use up zucchini!!! I didn't have pickling salt, so use table salt. It came out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      Wow, a great way to use Zucchini. I made a batch this morning. Very tasty, easy to make. I added 3 jalapeno peppers. Also, did a 15 minute hot water bath. My family loves Salsa. I will be making more as we have a garden & lots more Zucchini coming on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      This is one of the best salsa's that I've ever tasted, and definitely the best I've ever made! I added an extra 2 cups of zucchini cause I couldn't see throwing it out. I cut the sugar back to only 1/2 (and think I'll take it back another tbsp on the next batch). I didn't bother peeling the zucchini cause the green skin gives it a nice bit of colour, I did however remove the skins from the tomatoes. I added 1/2 cup chopped cilantro and 2 jalapenos as well. If you make it with the chili peppers according to the recipe, it makes quite a warm medium spice. So to get a mild, I'm going to cut the chili peppers in half. Great flavour!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      This is wonderful, made half a recipe. Used Splenda rather than sugar, we can't eat the sugar. Instead of red pepper flakes I added a small can of chilies, and a few flakes of Jalapeno dried peppers. Also about 1/2 cup cilantro. I sterilized the jars by using my steamer cannier processing for about ten minutes. The steamer cannier is 100% better than the usual water bath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Very tasty! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 5 good sized jalapenos and cutting the sugar back to about a half a cup as we don't care for really sweet salsa's. Nice balance of hot and sweet, hubby didn't know there was zucchini in it until I told him. Made 5 pints which I processed and a small tub to snack on leftover. Love the use of zucchini past the typical bread/cake! Absolutely a keeper for next summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I have made 2 batches in the past 2 weeks. I make my own tomato salsa receipe but this is a really nice change. I found the first batch too sweet for my liking which is just me so the second I cut the sugar to a 1/2 cup and added an extra 1/2 tbs of hot peppers which made it perfect for me. It is nice and thick and chunky! I dont even like cumin but it was fine in this. I did process mine for 15 min in a hot water bath (same as I would for zucchini relish) because I dont feel it is safe just sealing jars - I know many people do but I personally wont take the risk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      Wow! Even confirmed salsa haters say they like this one! We found this recipe had ample heat as is. We like it so much.....does anyone have any zucchini they would like to get rid of?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      I had so many zucchini and was wondering what to make. This is what I found. OMG! It is outstanding. I used half of the sugar and added 12 jalapeno peppers that I had left in the garden. I also puréed the mixture since my family does not like chunky salsa. I will be making more because I have more zucchini growing. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      Great way to use up zucchini from the garden! It was a little sweet for us, so next time I might cut back on the sugar some. Also added 5 jalapenos with seeds, but next time will add more as we prefer salsa with a little kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      It's December in freezing cold Minnesota, and I am enjoying the bounty from my garden in this salsa. I've given a few pints of it away, but no more. I don't want to run out! Yum. Thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Fanstatic! I used double the amount of tomatoes, and did two separate batches. One with all Mr. Stripey and Great Whites, the other with Roma. Didnt have green or red peppers so i substituted a bunch of whatever I could find in the garden. Turned out amazing, great colors and the flavor pops due to the 15 or so Fooled Ya Jalps in there. Making another batch today, talk about too many zucchini and a great way to use them. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      This is wonderful!!! I have made 1 batch each night the past 2 nights. It is really easy, cut it up the night before and the next day after lunch finish it up. I'd leave a cup of two out so we could have it with chips. Everyone just loves this recipe and what a great way to use up my extra zucchini! Thank you for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag Game ~ Summer 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I forgot to give my rating any stars... I would give this more than five if I could! Thanks again Bergy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Salsa, Canned

    Serving Size: 1 (4248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.9
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    51%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3826.5 mg
    159%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 34.9 g
    139%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites