105 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What an awesome way to use up my zucchini (there always seems to be too much). This recipe surprised my friends and family who couldn't believe there was more zucchini than tomato in it. We found it was plenty hot with only 5 jalepenos.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen7 October 01, 2001

I read every one of the reviews and considered many of the suggestions and tips given. I made a double batch, cutting the cornstarch and sugar in half. No nutmeg, but I did add 1/2 cup of dried cilantro. I used part brown and white sugars as well as half lemon juice and vinegar; I did add more sugar later to balance the flavor. I doubled the red pepper flakes and used a quart of jalapenos, not too spicy hot and not mild a notch above medium, it has a lively after kick. I ended up with 12 pint, 3 quart, and 1 (24 ounce) jars of salsa (19 ½ pints). I did the water bath because I%u2019ve heard too many horror stories regarding botulism and canning. Anyway, it looked like I had used too much zucchini, and the favor was alright. I waited as long as I could to taste the finished salsa, 1 day after pretty good, 2 days later, real good and the zucchini is not noticeable at all. If I have some left by the Christmas and New Year holidays it should be really good. It seems to get better with age, like a good wine.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B September 26, 2010

Wonderful flavour! I added 6 home grown jalapeno peppers, 1 home grown habanero pepper (gives it some heat) and 1/2 a yellow pepper.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue in YWG September 23, 2002

I've made 3 batches of this recipe is the last 2 weeks. It uses up lots of zucchini and I think it tastes better than the reg. salsa!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty22 September 20, 2002

Thanks one can never have too many zucchini recipes! I'm going to make a batch with Sugar substitute for my diabetic friends.Just the right price for a Christmas gift too!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krissy-P July 16, 2002

Bergy, Loved this recipe! Changed it just a bit...used small zucchini, left them unpeeled and diced fine. (Gave the salsa a nice chunky texture.) Also halved the vinegar and omitted the cornstarch. I have 12 gorgeous pints of this salsa setting on the cupboard...It is almost too pretty to store away! Thanks for posting. Barb

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook September 26, 2002

Wonderful, I had no idea what to do with all my zucchini and squash from the garden. I matched zucchini and squash then added about 1 1/2 cups crushed pineapple for a bit of sweetness. Everyone raves about it. Thanx Again!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kenn Osborne September 20, 2002

I was given a case of zucchini, so I made this salsa, and I love the flavor too! I got exactly 5 pints.Thanks for a great way to use up zucchini!!! I didn't have pickling salt, so use table salt. It came out fine.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 02, 2003

Wow, a great way to use Zucchini. I made a batch this morning. Very tasty, easy to make. I added 3 jalapeno peppers. Also, did a 15 minute hot water bath. My family loves Salsa. I will be making more as we have a garden & lots more Zucchini coming on.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz October 02, 2002

This is one of the best salsa's that I've ever tasted, and definitely the best I've ever made! I added an extra 2 cups of zucchini cause I couldn't see throwing it out. I cut the sugar back to only 1/2 (and think I'll take it back another tbsp on the next batch). I didn't bother peeling the zucchini cause the green skin gives it a nice bit of colour, I did however remove the skins from the tomatoes. I added 1/2 cup chopped cilantro and 2 jalapenos as well. If you make it with the chili peppers according to the recipe, it makes quite a warm medium spice. So to get a mild, I'm going to cut the chili peppers in half. Great flavour!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. August 10, 2010
Zucchini Salsa, Canned