10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was okay, but a bit bland for our tastes. The basil didn't come through very well, and I had to add onion and salt to give a bit more flavor. It was easy to tweak, and pretty and colorful, but could have been better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower March 12, 2011

Very nice recipe. The rice comes out with a bit of creaminess from the butter, and it is a great use for summer's bounty of zucchini. We ended up with 6 servings as a side dish. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews July 30, 2012

Reviewed for ZWT8 visit to France. Easy to make and made a great meal with a grilled chicken breast. I used gluten-free chicken stock/broth to make this meal gluten-free suitable. We really enjoyed this dish and its definitely a make again recipe for my family. Photo to be posted also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 30, 2012

Oh YUM, YUM, YUM! Mmm, this is a very pretty and super tasty pilaf! The zucchini and carrot add a lovely freshness and colour and the dried herbs go so well with them! I used dill in place of the basil as that's what I had on hand. Very yummy! I ate this as a main dish and that way it served two. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this yummy recipe with us, Hokies! It will surely be made again! Made and reviewed for 1-2-3-Hits November 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 05, 2009

This is a wonderful and versatile dish that would go well with many types of meat. I served mine with baked chicken and it was a great match. This was very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. Thanks for sharing your recipe! ETA: I used the leftovers to make fried rice for lunch the next day - just stir-fried it with a little butter and some soy sauce - it was terrific!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 22, 2008

A lovely simple side dish, I cheated & did this in the rice cooker with grated carrot & zucchini and even toddler DD ate some so great way to sneak a serve of vegies into the kids. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** August 09, 2008

I decided to cook it in the microwave. I put basil and butter together for 30 seconds at high. Then with the chicken stock 10 more minutes at high. I added the rice and carrot (1 carrot shredded) 8 minutes at high. Then at power 7 (medium-high) for 16 minutes. Then added the zucchini (that I peeled) and 5 minutes at high. It was ready. ANd I love the taste of the carrots. I may next time do it only with the carrots and omit the zucchini. Thanks Hokies. Made for Newest Zaar tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 28, 2008

Healthy, nutritious, and easy. I agree with the reviewer who thought it was a bit bland but easy to tweak. I will probably add some green onion, soy sauce, and scrambled egg to make fried rice with the leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeachyLia July 21, 2013

I really enjoyed this. I made it vegan by using some smart balance and veggie broth. I also didn't make it exactly like the recipe asked. I added garlic,onion, and lentils. I used fresh basil instead of dried, too. It still needed a little something though. I think next time I'm going to add 3 tsp of some salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sangria_Dove February 21, 2012
Zucchini Rice Pilaf