Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Ribbons With Basil Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Ribbons With Basil Butter

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2002

      Wow! This was so easy and so yummy! I too skipped the boiling. I added about 1/4 of a red pepper, sliced thinly, and a small clove of garlic to the zucchini as it was sauteed in the butter. I also used freshly grated parmesean and good quality olive oil as I think it really makes a difference. The result was tasty and oh, so beautiful to look at. This is a perfect side-dish to add colour to your meal. I would suggest snipping the fresh basil right into the pan. I sliced mine a bit ahead and the edges had already started to turn colour which affects the presentation of an otherwise beautiful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      A beautiful recipe. I make a variation to meet my tastes. I boil the water. Leave it to cool for 1 minute, pour over the zucchini. Stir once clockwise, once counterclockwise. Pour out the water and season. I eat it often with butter, pepper, salt. Zucchini is an excellent source of manganese. I can make this in less than 5 minutes. It is quick, healthy and cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This is a great zucchini recipe. I julienned the zucchini and steamed it, not at all limp or mushy. Meanwhile, I combined the other ingredients with the addition of garlic salt, which I tossed with the hot zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      This is an excellent side dish if you are looking for something other then the norm. This dish is not watery at all if made right. What a great new recipe. Thanks for posting!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      yum! I subbed goat cheddar for Parmesan and left out pepper flakes. Nice, mild, and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      I put off making this recipe for a long time, thinking that it would be too time-consuming to prep the zucchini. It really didn't take long, and the results were worth it. It looks beautiful and tastes delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      This was AWESOME I SAUTEED WITH SOME CHOW MEIN NOODLES and they we're out of this world. THANK YOU FOR POSTING>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Fantastic, easy, and healthy! I followed the recipe and did use the garlic powder listed in the directions in my version. I melted the butter in the microwave instead of cutting it into chunks. I think I will try the frying method next time. I also like the idea from another review of adding balsamic vinegar before serving, I will try that, too! Thanks for a very simple and flavorful recipe, Poker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      I needed to use up 2 zucchini, so this was perfect. adjustments were made of course. I used a tool from Pampered Chef and made them into thin strips (like spaghetti). Omitted the red pepper flakes, as I don't care for them. If it weren't for the fact my husband was going into work, I would have added some garlic. Tasty nevertheless. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Zucchini Ribbons are the Greatest! Like some others I'm not bothering to boil them. Just sautee quickly in the pan until al dente! If you are trying to cut out starch, grains or processed foods they are wonderful! They have become my go-to noodle for all kinds of sauces. Thanks Poker for a terrific recipe and a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      have to say, that's the most veggies either one of us has ever ate in one sitting! pretty yummy! julienned about 1 1/2 zuc's and fried in wok with olive oil, butter ,lemmon pepper, cracked black pepper, and like 5 cloves garlic. tossed with about 1c seasoned cooked chicken, cut. topped with shredded asiago cheese. will use this again! thanks! will drain zucchini half way thru frying next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Bland and mushy. Maybe I overcooked it -the recipe says to boil it up to a minute but the zucchini is sliced very thin so it doesn't take long at all to cook. It takes so much work to peel it with the peeler, especially if you just washed the zucchini and it's slippery. Also, it needs to be drained well. I don't think mine was drained enough, or the zucchini soaked up too much water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I think this is actually better with the noodles raw. Not as warm but they have a nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I'm sorry, but I didn't care for this. Healthy but not very tasty. I followed your instructions (except for the red pepper flakes because I don't like them). Hardly any flavor and very soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      It was fine, but way too much work making the strips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

    • on March 08, 2009

      I'll come back and give this stars the next time I make it when I am not subbing or adding ingredients. I had been grocery shopping and found a bunch of meat on sale. Did my shopping and forgot to buy veg (dolt) I was frantically scanning recipes as I had one medium sized Zucchini and some frozen lima beans. Like Mother Hubbards cupboard!! I made it as you do - sauteed in butter rather than boil (scaled down for 2) and added the lima beans. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Super yummy, and so fast and easy! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      One of the best side dishes ever! I made it instead of french fries, with a turkey burger, and even my BF loved it (he doesn't really like veggies). I usually don't even like zucchini, but this was really great. I sauteed it in a pan, and would not change anything. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      this was such a great recipe!! here's what i modified: i lightly stir-fried the ribbons in olive oil for about 4 minutes and added a pinch of salt -- it was delish! this is a perfect side dish and i included it with baked tilapia...very healthy and everyone loved it..thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Ribbons With Basil Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    68%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 9.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 79.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites