Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Quiche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Quiche

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2003

      This quiche was creamy and perfectly textured. I used fresh chopped spinach instead of the zuchinni, wilting it in the saute pan after the onions and garlic. I didn't have any heavy cream, so I used two cups of half and half, which worked just fine. This is a wonderful, versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I'd like to address the problem of the RUNNY, WATERY quiches some of you mentioned while making this very tasty dish.
      First of all as you know zuchinni does have alot of water in it and when you cook it it releases all that water hence all of the quiches out there that ended up runny is because the zuchinni wasn't prepared right.
      What I do is grate my zuchinni the night before I want to make this quiche, sprinkle some salt over it and work it in all over really well (the salt helps release the water) then I put it in a colander in my kitchen sink so all the water slowly drains out over night. When I'm ready to use it I squeeze out any remaining water and then follow the rest of the recipe.
      This should take care of the runny part...don't worry about substituting 2% milk etc for the cream because that shouldn't affect the outcome, I use 2% milk and I add some cottage cheese for the creaminess.
      My other suggestion is not to substitute the chedder cheese, zuchinni can be a bit bland so you need a cheese with a bit if a bite to it. I also use alot of garlic and a bit of dill for flavour.
      Last but not least don't forget to pre-bake your crust because otherwise the bottom won't bake and it will end up soggy .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      We have made this recipe many times. It is already a family favorite. We have substituted more eggs, more garlic, half and half, whole milk, additional vegetables, cheddar cheese, etc. The basic recipe is a very good one: we have been pleased with all results. The one improvement that we consistently use is to cover the top with additional shredded cheese. A baked cheese topping is always wonderful. Thank you for a FANTASTIC easy recipe that everyone in the family enjoys!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      I have to agree that this quiche is really great! I used half and half instead of the heavy cream, and I also prebaked the piecrust for more crisp. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Made your Zuchinni Quiche & a Ham Brocclie & Swiss for a Xmass brunch at work ! Your Zuchini was a big hit over mine :0) SO ~ it wasn`t just me that truly enjoyed the great taste and creamy texture of your Quiche ! If I could you would get there % Stars also :O) This is one in my book ~ POKER ~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      This was a very creamy quiche and also very flavorful. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      This was fabulous - I am working on my pie crust skills and I needed to use a ton of zucchini and squash so this took care of both! I used zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms, and sliced tomatoes in mine and used Lawry's instead of regular salt - also substituted half and half and 1% milk so it did take an extra 10 min. to bake but a little foil around the crust edges allowed me to cook longer. My husband loved it, I loved it and this was my best pie crust to date! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      It's in the oven right now--I'll rate it after we eat it. I didn't have any cream, so used 1 1/2 cups 2% milk. It was a good thing, too, since it was full to almost overflowing as it was (I didn't measure the zucchini and think it was more than 2 cups).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This quiche was amazing. So easy to make and super tasty. My husband inhaled the whole thing. I did add broccoli and fresh mushrooms, but the basic recipe is a keeper!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This was very good. I did make some changes though, but it turned out great. I added some broccoli to the zucchini as well as some bits of bacon. I forgot to buy cream at the store, so I used 1% milk and just had to cook it for five more minutes. I added some white pepper for flavor, and I also used a blend of half italian cheese and half cheddar for the cheese mixture. And I must admit, I doubled the amount of cheese. But hey, I figured I saved some calories using the milk instead. :) Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful, one of the best recipes I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I've never made a big quiche like this so i was nervous about the custard setting enough. It was a little watery but the party guests loved it! so simple. I topped mine with tomatoes I sliced round so it looked really pretty. maybe i'll toss in some parmesan next time for added kick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Amazing! I made it with fresh zucchini from the garden. So good! Light pleasant breakfast. Next time I think I'll reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon though there was a little to much in it for us. Ours was very watery, and didn't set either but it tasted GREAT so we didn't care.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This was delicious. I made the mistake of using fat free half and half instead of heavy cream, trying to save calories. Next time, I'll use the cream, I know it'll be better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Ok so my grocery store had really crappy Zucchini, so I got asparagus and some mushrooms instead. I sauteed the Mushrooms with the garlic and olive oil and then steamed the asparagus...mixed it all up, baked it for 35 min. and it wasn't done, so i baked it for 10 more min. and it wasn't done, so i baked it for another 10 min and it was done. (maybe my MIL's Oven was off)Any who, we cut into the quiche and it was very watery....so not sure if it was due to me using asparagus or what...tasted pretty good....but it seemed like it didn't set..... So not sure if my mishap was due to me or not.....otherwise it tasted great...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This was a simple recipe and very tasty indeed. I had a problem with the top browning well before the custard was set. I took it out of the oven and used the microwave for a few minutes. I don't know if that's the fault of my oven or what. Anyway, it was wonderfully flavorful if a bit fattening. I was looking for a dish to bring to a potluck and this one fits the bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      This was great! Think I will add some bacon to it the next time....:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      this is really good. i did use chedder instead of mozzerella and i did not sautee the zuccini first, i prefer it placed on top raw with hte garlic mixed into the egg mixture. i also added tomatoes to mine. the kids enjoyed it also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      This was delicious! We substituted a package of frozen spinach for the zucchini, which I fried with the onions to remove the excess moisture. I used one cup half and half and one cup of soy milk, and substituted jalapeno monteray jack for the mozzarella. We also added some ham. We ended up getting two quiches out of this and they took about an hour to bake. I also broiled it to get it nice and brown on top! Wonderful quiche - Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Really tasty. I used all fat-free milk instead of half cream and it still set up beautifully with a nice creamy texture. I had a little ham I wanted to use up so I chopped that up and added it to the mix. Was good with zucchini, but I'm sure it works well with other vegetable combinations as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Quiche

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.1
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    73%
    Total Fat 39.4 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 191.4 mg
    63%
    Sodium 899.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites