Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Pineapple Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Pineapple

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2009

      This should be processed using modern canning methods. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information. Similar recipes call for this to be processed in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I cut my giganitc zucchini into tid-bit size pieces after peeling and removing the seeds and surrounding membrane. The 18 cups of pieces made 7 pints, with about 2-1/2 cups of "juice" left over. If I made this again, I'd probably use 20 cups of tidbits. It tastes like pineapple, but has more of a pear consistency. It will definitely get used in the place of pineapple...pizza, stir fries, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Very easy recipe. It tastes like mild pineapple. I made a half recipe. Instead of grinding the zucchini, I cut it into pineapple tidbit shapes. And it looks just like pineapple tidbits! I also made one jar of pineapple rings. These tasted slightly of mango - maybe because the ring shape was thicker. The next day, I made a delicious "pineapple" coffee cake. *** Made ten 1/2 pints and water-bathed the jars for 10 mins. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Excellent recipe! Tastes just like pineapple. The recipe doesn't state if the zucchini should be peeled first, but I highly recommend doing this. My first batch I made tidbits and peeled the zucchini. Looks exactly like pineapple. The second batch I ground it with the skin on to make crushed. The green didn't go away and also has a slight greenish tint to it. Still tastes like pineapple though. It probably wouldn't matter if you are using the yellow variety zucchini, but mine was the dark green variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      TWO THUMBS UP!!!! This was a great way to use an OVER abundance of zucchini!!! It tastes just like "crushed pineapple". I did add yellow food coloring to my recipe to make it look more like pineapple, before the water bath canning and it only made 10 pints for me....but I am not complaining!! MMMMM good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I saved this recipe a while back before I got more informed about canning. Since then I've had the fear of life put in me not to use recipes that haven't been officially tested, and with this containing zucchini which is low acid I was afraid to try it. Good news! I found a similar recipe in Nat'l Center for Home Preservation's list. There is a slight difference though. Same amount of pineapple juice but more lemon juice which could make a difference. 1.5 cups bottled lemon juice and 4 qts cubed or shredded zucchini. I'll have to give it a try once I get some zucchini. ETA... made a triple batch of this with huge zucchini. A friend and I split the goods in the end. I think its a keeper but will try with younger zucchini. The large ones are too spongy so the texture doesn't work as well as it could. Younger zukes would mimic the pineapple better. I've had this on pizza and inside fruit salads etc and no one could tell the difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This is wonderful! I made this last summer and found that I used it quite a bit over winter, was perfect in recipes. I actually use it to make pineapple zucchini bread, which in reality turns out to be zucchini zucchini bread :) It's a wonderful way to use up those monster zucchini from the garden, and is such a great thing to have on hand for all your recipes that call for canned pineapple. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Brilliant!! I ended up canning half and freezing half. What a wonderful idea! Who knew? I will use this recipe every year at harvest time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Excellent! My husband had told me that his mother (who has been gone for years) used to make pineapple from zucchini, and I thought he was crazy, until my mom and I found this recipe and tried it for ourselves. I can't wait to present him with a jar of this when he comes back from Iraq next month!!! He'll be so surprised! My mom made crushed, tidbits, and even rings, when she found a zucchini that just happened to be the right shape to cut rings from. My neighbor used the tidbits in stirfry with great results, and Mom made a great pan of pineapple bars with the crushed. We can't wait to try the rings for pineapple upside down cake! Some reviewers mentioned adding coloring or pineapple flavoring, but we haven't found that necessary. The pineapple juice adds enough flavor and color for us. My mom cooks at a nursing home, and has taken samples of this in to work, and will likely be making some as a project with the residents there! Thanks for reviving this tradition for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2001

      sounds very tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      Judging by the taste today, I'd say this is going to be a 5-star recipe! I was going to do half in tidbits, but when I saw how much more juice a pint of tidbits required, I changed my mind. The "crushed" method allowed me to make twice as much. Can't wait to use this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Great recipe, tastes and has the same texture of pineapple. I cut mine in chunks and added yellow food coloring. I also used yellow summer squash and had the same results as I did with the zucchini!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Truth in advertising. It has the same mouth-feel as pineapple too which was very important to me. Great way to use some of the bounty this year. I'm going to try the tidbits next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Well who'da thunk it! Pineapple out of zucchini!! I just happen to have an awesome GF zucchini-pineapple muffin recipe. Do you think that's cheating?...:}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This was a great recipe, I was a little surprised when I opened the first jar and it smelled like zuchini, but it tasted like pineapple in the cheesecake I made with it. I did notice someone else mentioned they only got 10 pints, as did I, thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      This was wonderfull, It tastes great, I cant wait to use it in some recipes that call for pineapple! Mine was plenty yellow, i did not need to add any coloring to mine. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe, I was kinda wondering how it would taste.. Next year I will plant another Zucchini plant just to do this, wow what a great recipe thanks for sharing this is a keeper!! I will be giving this to me Mother in Law to make as well! I made this into rings as well, after peeling the zucchini I cut them into about 1/4" slices and took a star cookie cutter for the middle to give them a little design. I also added yellow food coloring to the juice to give them more of a pineapple look. I also ended up making the full amount to the liquid but having to do the rings in two separate batches as they wouldn't all fit into the pot at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      When my cousin made me a zucchini/pineapple pie, I was amazed. This is a real keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      is a great recipe, my family likes it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Pineapple

    Serving Size: 1 (4268 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.4
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    36%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 65.7 g
    262%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites