20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This should be processed using modern canning methods. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information. Similar recipes call for this to be processed in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul June 08, 2009

I cut my giganitc zucchini into tid-bit size pieces after peeling and removing the seeds and surrounding membrane. The 18 cups of pieces made 7 pints, with about 2-1/2 cups of "juice" left over. If I made this again, I'd probably use 20 cups of tidbits. It tastes like pineapple, but has more of a pear consistency. It will definitely get used in the place of pineapple...pizza, stir fries, etc.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Addie's Grandma September 15, 2009

Very easy recipe. It tastes like mild pineapple. I made a half recipe. Instead of grinding the zucchini, I cut it into pineapple tidbit shapes. And it looks just like pineapple tidbits! I also made one jar of pineapple rings. These tasted slightly of mango - maybe because the ring shape was thicker. The next day, I made a delicious "pineapple" coffee cake. *** Made ten 1/2 pints and water-bathed the jars for 10 mins. Great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 August 12, 2009

Excellent recipe! Tastes just like pineapple. The recipe doesn't state if the zucchini should be peeled first, but I highly recommend doing this. My first batch I made tidbits and peeled the zucchini. Looks exactly like pineapple. The second batch I ground it with the skin on to make crushed. The green didn't go away and also has a slight greenish tint to it. Still tastes like pineapple though. It probably wouldn't matter if you are using the yellow variety zucchini, but mine was the dark green variety.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyberchef August 16, 2008

TWO THUMBS UP!!!! This was a great way to use an OVER abundance of zucchini!!! It tastes just like "crushed pineapple". I did add yellow food coloring to my recipe to make it look more like pineapple, before the water bath canning and it only made 10 pints for me....but I am not complaining!! MMMMM good

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee B July 27, 2003

I saved this recipe a while back before I got more informed about canning. Since then I've had the fear of life put in me not to use recipes that haven't been officially tested, and with this containing zucchini which is low acid I was afraid to try it. Good news! I found a similar recipe in Nat'l Center for Home Preservation's list. There is a slight difference though. Same amount of pineapple juice but more lemon juice which could make a difference. 1.5 cups bottled lemon juice and 4 qts cubed or shredded zucchini. I'll have to give it a try once I get some zucchini. ETA... made a triple batch of this with huge zucchini. A friend and I split the goods in the end. I think its a keeper but will try with younger zucchini. The large ones are too spongy so the texture doesn't work as well as it could. Younger zukes would mimic the pineapple better. I've had this on pizza and inside fruit salads etc and no one could tell the difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker February 07, 2013

This is wonderful! I made this last summer and found that I used it quite a bit over winter, was perfect in recipes. I actually use it to make pineapple zucchini bread, which in reality turns out to be zucchini zucchini bread :) It's a wonderful way to use up those monster zucchini from the garden, and is such a great thing to have on hand for all your recipes that call for canned pineapple. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee in WI September 21, 2009

Brilliant!! I ended up canning half and freezing half. What a wonderful idea! Who knew? I will use this recipe every year at harvest time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies August 25, 2008

Excellent! My husband had told me that his mother (who has been gone for years) used to make pineapple from zucchini, and I thought he was crazy, until my mom and I found this recipe and tried it for ourselves. I can't wait to present him with a jar of this when he comes back from Iraq next month!!! He'll be so surprised! My mom made crushed, tidbits, and even rings, when she found a zucchini that just happened to be the right shape to cut rings from. My neighbor used the tidbits in stirfry with great results, and Mom made a great pan of pineapple bars with the crushed. We can't wait to try the rings for pineapple upside down cake! Some reviewers mentioned adding coloring or pineapple flavoring, but we haven't found that necessary. The pineapple juice adds enough flavor and color for us. My mom cooks at a nursing home, and has taken samples of this in to work, and will likely be making some as a project with the residents there! Thanks for reviving this tradition for us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SrtaMaestra September 03, 2007

sounds very tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi Figinsky August 15, 2001
Zucchini Pineapple