Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini-Pepper Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini-Pepper Relish

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      Second year making this! Wonderful way to use up those giant zucchini. When paired with homemade ketchup and mustard this makes a fun and tasty Christmas present.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      This was a great recipe! We just made this the other week and the husband can't keep his hands out of the jar. I am not one for food dyes, but we added green coloring to the relish to turn it bright green. I really like the freakish green color. We hand shredded a second batch and it gave us longer strands of zucchini in the relish. I don't believe I will do that again because it took extra time and I really like the smaller pieces. There was a really good crunch that was in the relish. I just had some today on a cheeseburger - amazing! We ended up canning this in small jelly jars (4 oz jars) to not waste the product. Thanks for a keeper! I will be using this receipe over and over again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Very Tasty! I tripled the recipe since I had three large zucchini. My sweet peppers weren't red yet so I added 2 jalapenos that were, along with my green peppers. I cut the sugar back to 2 cups per batch and thought it was plenty sweet at that level. Meant to add the nutmeg I had seen in other versions but forgot - still good anyway!! My yield for the triple batch was 10.5 pints.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      This is delicious-people keep asking me for more relish (or the recipe)! I have had so many requests that I used cucumbers instead of the zucchini (I found myself with 30 pounds of cucumbers) and it is just as delicious! I also added jalapeno peppers to the relish upon the request of a few friends who love spicy foods! This will be a wonderful addition to my homemade gift baskets at Christmas time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Wow I must say I am very impressed! Another great way to use up all those zucchini and peppers for those of us with gardens. I added one fresh jalapeno for zing and used one green and one orange pepper for color. Thank you for a keeper at our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      Lovely relish!!!I will be making this one again.I did double the amount of cornstarch though as it was a bit runny.Other than that it is an excellent relish:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Great relish! I used one large zucchini, one large yellow squash, and two small yellow squash. Otherwise, I followed the instructions as written. I ended up with 3 pints of relish. This is a great way to use up and preserve extras from the garden! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      My family doesn't care for red peppers so I used a combination of shredded and minced carrots instead. Replaced sugar with 2c Splenda and did end up doubling the cornstarch mixture to thicken. Made approx. 3 pints. Absolutely delicious! Will double and reuse in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Great way to use those extra zucchini and pepper. I used red and green peppers in mind. HE even uses this in his tossed salads. This makes great christmas gifts. Great flavor .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      What an awesome way to use up zucchini. This was very similar to a recipe my niece gave me, except there was 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg in hers, so I added that to this one and also used five cups of frozen zucchini instead of the 3 lbs of fresh, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      I just finished canning this. My neighbor gave me 2 huge zucchini and I turned to this little gem of a recipe. I haven't tried it yet but I know it's going to be good. I also had to double the cornstarch mixture mine was very soupy. Thickened up also in the water bath. This is so pretty with the red & green. This would be so pretty for Christmas gifts. I may have to plant zucchini next year in my garden just to make this relish. Thanks so much for posting Mae!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This was excellent. I love spicy food so I added some African chili powder (cayenne would have done the trick, too) and cut back a little bit on the sugar. I was very happy with the taste. I am making another batch of this very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      Perfectly delicious! Thanks. I eat it on so many sandwiches now. I substituted 1 C. of Splenda for all of the sugar, and it tastes just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      I have an abudance of zucchini in my garden so I tried this one out. It's very good. I can't wait to try it out on some hot dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      It was wonderful. and I would use the shredding disc to make it more uniform. Making the rinsing and draining of the veggies easier. I think it would also be wonderful over grill chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      I have been making this relish for the last couple of years. My Dad made a special request for it last fall. He says it's the best relish for the bologna salad that he makes. It's the best relish!! It's hard to back to store bought when I run out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      I made this and altho I havent tried it yet, my mother-in-law took a jar and called us saying it was wonderful! I will have to make more for gifts this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Love this relish. I've been making it for years. I use the shredding disc on the food processor for the zucchini, but chop the onions and peppers by hand to give it more contrast. Also I don't bother with the water bath- hasn't hurt us yet. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      I didn't prepare this myself, Rita L was my swap partner and was nice enough to send me a jar of hers! Boy was it good! I've put it on my turkey sandwich (several times) and DH ate some on a burger the other day! DH said it was "freaking awesome" and since he doesn't comment much about food, that is a huge compliment! LOL I have to agree with him! I'm sure the jar will be gone in no time, so I will be making some myself real soon! Thanks for sharing your recipe, this will be one I will make over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      I wasn't crazy about the pulsing of the zucchini, peppers and onions. I was left with mush to chuck size pieces of veggies. I think the shredding disc would have made it more uniform. Making the rinsing and draining of the veggies easier as well as the appearance. But that `s fine I really did enjoy this. I added some Thai peppers, 1/8 teaspoon of dried ground habanaro pepper. I used 1 red and 1 green pepper. I cut the sugar down to 2 cups. I never made any jams, relishes, preserves that called for cornstarch so I was a little skeptic. I came out just great. MeaEast, Thanks for the wonderful relish. It will be relished by myself and all I serve it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini-Pepper Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (2891 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1248.4
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    57%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14226.6 mg
    592%
    Total Carbohydrate 299.2 g
    99%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 279.4 g
    1117%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites