14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is fantastic! I really didn't miss the pasta at all... really!! Since I don't eat meat I added a small handful of TVP (textured vegetable protein) to the tomatoes as they simmered and half of a vegetarian beef flavored bouillon cube. I knew the sausage would add lots of flavor so wanted to substitute it somehow. The long strips of zucchini did remind me of spagetti, and the sauce was perfect. I thought I'd be missing the onion in it but didn't at all. Oh, I also added a bit of crushed red pepper and used dried basil. Sorry about all the substitutions leeannr, but I must say that this is a delicious, easy and healthy meal. I really love it and will be making it often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 26, 2003

My family really liked this one. I just used shredded pasta though. Just before it was all heated through I added some more so there was a different texture to it. Also all I had on hand was pork sausage but it tasted just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eBeth August 06, 2003

I made this for the first time tonight and loved it! My boyfriend said he preferred the zucchini over pasta - hands down! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renn55 December 13, 2011

I had extra zucchini to use up that my father-inlaw had brought us from his vegetable garden. This was truly delicious. I loved the turkey sausage in it. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and added the zucchini to the same pan as the tomatoes rather than cooking it separately. I let it simmer while I cooked the sausage and it turned out perfectly. A new favorite in our house! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eliza S September 18, 2009

my soulmate hates zucchini, but she actually ate every strand of it and that is HUGE! i substituted 1/2 tube of gimme lean soy sausage and added extra garlic and oregano and some crushed red pepper to give it just a littl heat -- the only complaint i got was that it needed more sausage, so next time i will add the whole tube or make sure she gets most of it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual May 25, 2009

Excellent recipe! I, like MelinOhio, also used a Julienne peeler for the zucchini. It worked out perfect! Will definitely be making this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl June 04, 2008

Delicious. Ok, so it's not pasta, but it is a healthy, veggie-filled dinner that my husband and I heartily enjoyed. We added green onion and mushrooms in place of the sausage, but other than that stuck to the recipe. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Gourmande July 08, 2007

Made as directed using my Julienne Peeler. My husband is gone for the weekend and I treated myself to this wonderful dish. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio October 14, 2006

Mmmm this was absolutely delicious! It was extremely simple to make and reminds me of a dish I used to get a restaurant. I definitely did not miss the pasta at all, I actually think it has a lot more flavour and better texture than pasta does. Thanks for sharing this recipe I am sure to make this a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hisforever November 22, 2005

Excellent, excellent. I used some gourmet turkey-chicken-mozzarella-artichoke sausages, and I used one very large garden-fresh tomato instead of the canned. I sauteed the sliced sausage with the garlic, then added tomatoes, then I just cooked the zucchini in the sauce. This was excellent; DH & I both enjoyed its hearty flavor. We'll have this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal July 19, 2005
Zucchini Pasta