33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a really great recipe. I loved it and My DH really liked it, too. We had an abundance of tomatoes and made our own homemade spaghetti sauce, which I think added even more flavor. Like others, I did not remove the skin of the zucchini. I will definitely make this dish again next year. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDJTL September 10, 2012

Absolutely delicious!! And super easy (which is a huge plus for me), since I stay busy with 2 kids, school, etc. I didn't realize we were out of breadcrumbs until I started prepping this dish, so I had to improvise and use crushed up saltines instead of breadcrumbs- did not effect the taste at all! Yum. Thank you for a wonderfully easy and delicious dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Tinkerbell June 06, 2011

This is truly outstanding! I didn't peel the zucchini and used my own marinara sauce. I did find the directions a bit confusing though. Step 1 says to preheat oven to 425 and step 6 says to bake at 375 degrees - it would be clearer if the directions stated to decrease oven temperature after step 2. All in all everyone really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skooch May 21, 2010

This was nice and hearty for a chilly day. I had to make some changes to accommodate some dietary needs in our house. I ground up some gluten free crackers to make crumbs for the the zucchini. Also, I used soy cheese both with excellent results. It's a wonder I didn't eat up all the baked zucchini before I could assemble the whole dish! A few changes I'll make next time: I'll make sure to salt and pepper the zucchini well before adding the crumbs. Also, I used a roasted garlic marinara, and I think that flavor overpowered everything else so I'll use something milder. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway December 04, 2008

Love this recipe with a few mods! Added med. sweet onion and garlic powder sauteed in 1 tsp of butter to jar tomato basil sauce. Added 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper to egg wash. Made sure cookie sheet was adequately oiled with EVO so that breadcrumbs adhered perfectly and did not stick when removed each one carefully and put in baking dish to assemble. Zuchinni were big so I used 9x13 pyrex instead and doubled the mozzarella - layer in the middle and a layer on top - yum! a new favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pastorbmk March 29, 2015

I dislike eggplant parmesan, so I thought I would give this a try. Thank you for a very delicious recipe, I will make again and again. I too left on the zucchini skin, but I was unclear of the proper way to slice the zucchini, so I sliced into discs instead of lengthwise. You might want to clarify the preferred slice, especially to new cooks unfamiliar with this type of recipe. Despite the extra work in breading the discs, it turned out great. I really seasoned the bread crumbs since I only had plain on hand. I threw in generous portions of dried spices; garlic, basil, oregano, onion powder and salt and pepper. I used an 8 x 8 inch pan and used Trader Joe's low fat Tuscano Marinara.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cece P. January 11, 2015

My daughter-in-law shared this recipe with me. Everyone loves it and I will be adding it to my personal cookbook journal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CONNELLTEXAS July 23, 2014

Tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 26, 2014

If I could give this more than five stars, I would. Fabulous!! I've made a fried version of this but this baked version is better. This is going in my recipe folder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icandoit185 January 02, 2014

I do love eggplant parm, but of course, my hubby doesn't care for eggplant. So, I asked if he would consider trying zucchini parm, he agreed. I made it, and it was delish. Easy too. The only reason I gave this four stars and not five, is because I think you have to give the marinara sauce credit in this dish also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative November 07, 2011
Zucchini Parmesan