Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Oven " Fries" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Oven " Fries"

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2009

      DH made these tonight and they are fantastic! He didn't use even use an egg (we're out) and he used some seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. Nice change of pace from the usual steamed zucchini. And it smelled great, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Great fries! I used one large zuccini and one egg white... I cut down the other ingrediants in approximation, and it turned out fine. I think I cut the fries TOO thin becuase they were floppy, but still very yummy dipped in a fat-free ceaser sauce! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      LOVED these! Even my anti-veggie kids ate these. Excellent recipe. I was running short on time, so didn't get them quite as crispy as I wanted, but still really yummy. One of the previous reviewers has an excellent point....you MUST cut the pieces small. The bigger ones ended up soggy. I will make these again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Great recipe!!!! Never thought of doing this with zucchini! Don't forget to spray them with cooking spray (like I did my first batch, cuz I wasn't paying attention to the recipe instructions!!) And turn them when halfway through their baking time (forgot that the first time too). Thanks for posting, Pot Pie!!! It has been so great to be your teammate!! Made for Family Picks ZWT4 for the CAFE ZMAKK Gypsies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      These were outstanding! I must be following the new & improved instructions, because your introduction talks about problems that I didn't encounter. These were perfect -- lightly crunchy on the outside, soft and moist on the inside. My 3-yr old DS thought they were french fries and ate a whole stack! Thanks, Chef PotPie! Made for ZWT4!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      We really liked the flavor of these. I have made zucchini fries before, and they were much easier (no egg white, no flour, just cut and bake) but they didn't taste as good. Mine ended up taking 35 minutes to get a nice golden color. They were also very powdery after being cooked, which was the major complaint against these amongst the boys, but that may have been chef's error. For future chefs, shake shake shake shake off the excess flour mixture! :) Thank you for sharing, made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Wowsers, I like these better than sweet potato fries, and they are even lighter! (When does THAT every happen? LOL). I tossed in a few extra spices with mine, including some onion powder and smoked paprika. Wonderful with some FF Ranch dressing. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      So very easy to make and so healthy for you. These "fries" were scrumptious. Have just turned vegetarian so am looking for little ideas here and there. Even omnivors will love these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Oh my goodness! What a great substitute for french fries. I tried a low carb diet for a couple of weeks, a few months ago, and lost 7 pounds. I did not stay on it because the food choices were so limited. I tried a low-fat diet, that didn't work, so I'm back on low-carb. One of the things I crave is french fries, which I can't have on a low carb diet. I made this with soy flour and no corn starch to try and keep carbs down. It satisfied my french fry craving and can be a healthy food on any diet. Thank you, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      This was a real treat. My mother and I both enjoyed it very much. I added extra garlic because we love garlic. I cooked them for way longer than the time given though. They turned out nice and crispy. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I really didn't care for these that much. They were a bit too bland for me. They need some seasoning salt or something to kick them up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I agree with other reviewers that they didn't get quite as crispy as we like, and they definitely didn't come out as pretty as yours did. We even cut them pretty small and cooked them for 45 minutes. We tried them with the soft peak egg whites first, but that made the flour mixture clumpy. We tried the next batch with a standard egg wash, and that allowed for even coverage, but the flour mixture didn't cook all the way still. I'll be making these again because I really enjoyed the flavor but with some changes. Thank you for posting! Reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Made for ZWT4...These were pretty good but they did not get nice and crisp like I wanted. Even after cooking for 45 minutes. Next time I would be sure I wipe off any excess flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      These were excellent, and best of all they taste kind of decadent while actually being pretty darn healthy. Thank you so much for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I baked some chicken strips (seasoned with Old Bay) and served these wrapped with the chicken in a wheat tortilla. The result was pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Thanks for a fun new way to eat zucchini! I omitted the salt, but otherwise followed the instructions as-is. It was quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

    • on July 06, 2007

      we tried these recently and found them quite tasty. the basic recipe is good but if you add chilli then sprinkle them (when cooked and still hot) with a mixture of good quality olive oil, chilli, finely minced garlic and lots of fresh mint, it takes them to another dimension. we enjoyed these a lot. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      These were a good side with Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches. We love zucchini and will have to pull this recipe again when the gardens are overflowing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Enjoyed these a lot. I've been on a "fries" kick lately and am enjoying finding things other then white potatoes to make into fries. I used less zucchini since I had less, but it worked out fine. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Oven " Fries"

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.1
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    63%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 329.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes