29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH made these tonight and they are fantastic! He didn't use even use an egg (we're out) and he used some seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. Nice change of pace from the usual steamed zucchini. And it smelled great, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 August 26, 2009

Great fries! I used one large zuccini and one egg white... I cut down the other ingrediants in approximation, and it turned out fine. I think I cut the fries TOO thin becuase they were floppy, but still very yummy dipped in a fat-free ceaser sauce! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy February 03, 2009

LOVED these! Even my anti-veggie kids ate these. Excellent recipe. I was running short on time, so didn't get them quite as crispy as I wanted, but still really yummy. One of the previous reviewers has an excellent point....you MUST cut the pieces small. The bigger ones ended up soggy. I will make these again and again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 January 11, 2009

Great recipe!!!! Never thought of doing this with zucchini! Don't forget to spray them with cooking spray (like I did my first batch, cuz I wasn't paying attention to the recipe instructions!!) And turn them when halfway through their baking time (forgot that the first time too). Thanks for posting, Pot Pie!!! It has been so great to be your teammate!! Made for Family Picks ZWT4 for the CAFE ZMAKK Gypsies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette July 08, 2008

These were outstanding! I must be following the new & improved instructions, because your introduction talks about problems that I didn't encounter. These were perfect -- lightly crunchy on the outside, soft and moist on the inside. My 3-yr old DS thought they were french fries and ate a whole stack! Thanks, Chef PotPie! Made for ZWT4!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too July 02, 2008

We really liked the flavor of these. I have made zucchini fries before, and they were much easier (no egg white, no flour, just cut and bake) but they didn't taste as good. Mine ended up taking 35 minutes to get a nice golden color. They were also very powdery after being cooked, which was the major complaint against these amongst the boys, but that may have been chef's error. For future chefs, shake shake shake shake off the excess flour mixture! :) Thank you for sharing, made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout June 23, 2008

Wowsers, I like these better than sweet potato fries, and they are even lighter! (When does THAT every happen? LOL). I tossed in a few extra spices with mine, including some onion powder and smoked paprika. Wonderful with some FF Ranch dressing. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 April 28, 2008

So very easy to make and so healthy for you. These "fries" were scrumptious. Have just turned vegetarian so am looking for little ideas here and there. Even omnivors will love these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicopee September 22, 2007

Oh my goodness! What a great substitute for french fries. I tried a low carb diet for a couple of weeks, a few months ago, and lost 7 pounds. I did not stay on it because the food choices were so limited. I tried a low-fat diet, that didn't work, so I'm back on low-carb. One of the things I crave is french fries, which I can't have on a low carb diet. I made this with soy flour and no corn starch to try and keep carbs down. It satisfied my french fry craving and can be a healthy food on any diet. Thank you, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mocholj July 10, 2007

This was a real treat. My mother and I both enjoyed it very much. I added extra garlic because we love garlic. I cooked them for way longer than the time given though. They turned out nice and crispy. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu May 08, 2007
Zucchini Oven " Fries"