99 Reviews

This was fantastic. I cook for someone on a special diet who cannot have oil or margarine, or salt, so I left them out. I also left out the oregano as I do not like it and used salsa for the tomatoes. Oh my this was so good, I could not stop testing it. It is so easy to make as well. I used one zucchini and one summer squash. Thank you so much for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada July 19, 2012

This has the taste I remember from my childhood. Just like mom's! I used butter instead of margarine and opted for all squash. Very delicious. I really over toasted my bread cubes but it still tasted excellent. I may try for half the butter next time just to make it healthier - but it by no means tasted greasy. Maybe I'll add the second can of tomatoes as other reviews have suggested. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Two Hearts July 12, 2012

Way to go Ms. Connie! I mixed squash and zucchini and added fresh garlic in the onion step. Very awesome and super easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja July 07, 2012

Delicious! I had 4 yellow squash and peeled and seeded 3 fresh tomatoes. I also added a can of rotel and omitted the pepper and onions because I didn't have any. I used croutons for the bread and added about a 1/4 cup of chicken broth. This was really yummy, we will make again. I don' t think the leftovers are great, so I'll really try to scale to the # of people I'm cooking for next time. Thank you for such a unique way to cook squash!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue June 27, 2012

Great recipe! Imade the recipe as directed using yellow squash.I followed another reviewers suggestion and added a second can of tomatoes. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac May 20, 2012

I was looking for a recipe to use up some zucchini before we headed out of town. I had about third of a red, yellow, and orange pepper left from another recipe, so it was a bonus that I was able to use them up as well. While we enjoyed this, everyone picked the bread out. If I make it again I will probably leave it out and maybe drain a little of the juice from the tomatoes out considering the bread will not be there to soak it up. I may take another reviewers suggestion and use a can of diced tomatoes with seasoning to give it a little more zip. I am sure will be be experimenting lots, as zucchini season has just begun! Looking forward to it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 19, 2012

Loved this zucchini casserole. Easy to make especially since I used garlic croutons vs. toasted bread. Served this dish with some Italian roasted potatoes and a salad. Perfect for a nice veggie dinner. Will definitely make this dish again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration March 08, 2012

Very tasty!! I made this recipe exactly as stated, it was simple to prepare, and had a great flavor. I love finding recipes that are good for you and taste good all at the same time...thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nkoprince08 February 08, 2012
Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole