Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      What a wonderful veggie dish! After reading some of the other reviews, I actually used one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of regular rotel tomatoes. It was moist and delicious. My husband loves it. Thank you for posting this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      A really good veggie dish. I forgot to toast my bread and it still turned out really well. I did add extra garlic and some italian seasoning. I also skipped the margarine and used extra virgin olive oil instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I really enjoyed this casserole...It was a nice way to serve squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is a great recipe! It really helped me use up some fresh veggies from my garden (tomatoes, peppers and the squash). I made it for a neighbor who said he "isn't crazy about yellow squash." He had 2 helpings! I amended the recipe and used croutons instead of the bread. I also used 3 cloves of fresh garlic and plenty of Italian seasoning, plus extra cheese on top (a shredded blend). Delicious! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I have made it several times and just made it for a family dinner yesterday. There was not one drop left. For the toasted bread I used a package of cheese & garlic croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Used fresh garlic and croutons since I was out of bread and I thought this was very good. I liked it even better when I ate the leftovers the next day. Oh, I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      This is a real winner of a recipe. Especially for a family with a big productive garden. I did use fresh garlic and oregano but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. This will be something we make on a regular basis. Thanks for this 5 star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Fantastic! Made exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This was really good! I made a few changes. I cut back on the onion b/c my son isn't a fan and used 2 Tbsp of butter instead of the margarine and breadcrumbs instead of toast. This had a great taste and was a wonderful way to use zucchini and squash from the CSA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      W.O.W. THis is fantastic and I am not the kind of person to enjoy veggies with no meat on the fork. I didn't have peppers so used 3 large yellow squash which I browned in the butter. Had to do it in 3 batches, then sweated onions and fresh garlic for a couple minutes, added 14 oz can of petite diced tomatoes with juice. Then combined all. Put half in dish, then topped with 3 T parm, topped with remaining mixture and used another 3T of parm on top. I used 2, 4" square sourdough rolls (on bakery clearance cart) and I think they held up better than regular sandwich bread would? In response to others bread getting soggy, try using a larger shallow dish because some of my bread chunks in the middle of my 2qrt dish were soggy with all the rest (top,bottom and sides) being crispy, savory yumminess. Thanks for this recipe. I'll be making it a lot this summer and adding it to my recipe tin--oh and bringing it for weekend cookouts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      okay, i must agree this is a wonderful casserole. it is so easy to prepare. i used fresh zucchini, squash & tomatoes from my garden. i added about 1 cup of marinara sauce (because i didn't use can tomatoes). i added cooked sweet turkey sausage to still keep it healthy. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Can't imagine anyone giving this less than 5 stars. Fantastic just as submitted, but I've also made it with Ro-Tel tomatoes since my family likes the extra heat. Fantastic the next day as well. This is a lighter version of one of my all-time favorites, Tomato Vegetable Casserole from Giada DiLaurentis which is posted on recipezaar also. Thanks for posting, Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Very good, Connie51. I read some of the reviews and incorporated some of their ideas and they totally steered me in right direction. The recipe "as is" may be better or at least as tasty. I added a cut up chicken breast to make the complete and two cans of diced tomatoes with green pepper, celery, and onion within per the review recommendations. I'm lucky to have fresh zucchini and squash at a friend's garden, and I have fresh herbs growing also (oregano), so this is going to be a great summer food-wise! I also added mozzerella cheese with the parmesan and that made it so very good! Thanks for a great recipe, sorry that I changed it up, but cooking is always an adventure! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

    • on December 22, 2008

      I've made this 3 times since I discovered it about 2 months ago. Someone gave us a huge zucchini from there garden so I was on the hunt for some zucchini recipes, as I don't usually know what to do with squash. This was so yummy. Once change was that I used bread rolls (and subsequently, used some leftover garlic bread) instead of toast. I also add parmesan to the mix and on top and instead of oregano I add italian seasoning. Oh yeah, I also used mushrooms instead of the bell pepper - ok I guess I've changed it quite a bit!!! Very, very good, and even better the next day, if there is any left. Update - I've also made this into a complete meal casserole instead of just a side dish by adding leftover chicken and pasta instead of bread. This is now made regularly in our house

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Such a versatile recipe where you can easily make changes based on what you have at home for a complete meal! I sauteed minced garlic in the butter, and used 1 zucchini and 2 small yellow squash. I omitted the bread and added 2-3 cups of cooked pasta, shredded chicken, fresh parsley, and mozarella cheese to the mixture. I used two cans of diced tomatoes (1 fire roasted tomatoes + 1 diced with jalapeno peppers (nice, small kick!)). Very tasty, but the amount of butter is the only thing that makes me cringe so I used a bit less than 1/4 cup. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      My family loved it, even my 2 year old! I especially liked the flavor of the parmesan on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      this was just ok at my house. My family seamed to like it ok (my kids mostly liked the bread, and skipped the veggies, and my husband didn't complain), but I just didn't like the texure of the squash once it went in the oven. sorry, it's a personal taste thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I made this for the family tonight. There were no leftovers. I peeled the squash to hide it from our 10 year old. I made the bread crumbs from my homemade bread. I also added 2 cans of tomatoes and doubled the herbs. Man was this delicious! Thanks for the recipe Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I loved this although since I didn't have canned tomatoes on hand my version was with pasta sauce instead. I also added some red wine vinegar to give it some tang. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    51%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 571.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites