98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This makes a really good and healthy side dish.I use olive oil instead of the margarine. I've made this twice last month for my family, and I imagine it would work well as a pot luck dish. Surprisingly filling too with whole grain bread cubes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alikp August 03, 2013

This is delicious. No heavy cream or cheeses to make good veggies ratting. Tasted even better the next day. Served with spaghetti. Tasted great with a little of the sauce on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krsummers68 August 01, 2013

Best way to eat veggies and squash. I gave it a try on a whim and everyone was avoiding eating dinner when I said "squash casserole" but when they did try it, they all had more and then stored some for their lunches the next day. Prepping so many veggies took time, but it made enough for 2 or 3 meals. Also, try using chopped bits of smoked gouda and quartered meatballs in it next time-- i did and it will now be used in our house at least once a month! btw: this house typically hates squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WuhanNoodle June 01, 2013

I'm looking forward to trying this recipe with vegetables fresh from the garden. I used store bought stuffing herb and onion croutons because I had a partial bag lying around. I could make this dish a meal. I like the way it all went together starting with the onions and pepper, squash, tomatoes, and then the bread/croutons and seasonings. I enjoyed making and eating this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B December 25, 2012

This was good and an interesting change from the regular zuchhini but not really mind blowing for me. I am giving it 4 stars though since I altered the recipe by forgetting to sautee the veggies before baking them and had to bake the casserole a little longer. I added some garlic for an additional punch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannabe_chef August 23, 2012

Great recipe! This was so easy to prepare and very delicious. It was a great way to use up some of my extra garden vegetables! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mo-Rocca August 22, 2012

I totally agree with all these positive reviews! This was awesome and a great way to use up extra summer squash. I mixed yellow squash with zucchini and did as one reviewer suggested by adding TWO cans of tomatoes with garlic & onion to the mix. It came out wonderfully! My kids said it tastes like pizza! Thank you Connie, for a wonderful addition to our summer meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anissa August 03, 2012

Added a generous tablespoon of homemade pesto to the mixture before baking in the casserole dish. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ADMoul July 22, 2012

This recipe was just ok. I really didn't like the bread and the overall texture and consistency. I know that zucchini and yellow squash are abundant in the summer but for us this just isn't a recipe worth wasting our yummy produce on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earuiz221 July 21, 2012

This was fantastic. I cook for someone on a special diet who cannot have oil or margarine, or salt, so I left them out. I also left out the oregano as I do not like it and used salsa for the tomatoes. Oh my this was so good, I could not stop testing it. It is so easy to make as well. I used one zucchini and one summer squash. Thank you so much for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada July 19, 2012
Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole