Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2002

      This recipe is excellent!! We altered it by using (2) 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes with garlic and onions. We found by using two cans instead of one it turned out more moist. We definitely recommend this recipe. It has become one of our favorites!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! I had an overabundance of squash this year and it was really a treat to prepare this dish, very easy and the kids LOVED it! They said they no longer want me to make it the old way (sauteed in butter) and asked if I could make it this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      This recipe was very delicious the only thing i changed was that i used rotel diced tomatoes with garlic and oregano instead of the plain tomatoes, this will surley be a recipe i will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      I made this to take to our church's social. Folks RAVED about it!! I have to make copies of this recipe to hand out. Not one person that tried this disliked it. There wasn't even a bite left and that was the first time that happened to me. This will be a special occasion dish (and a "just because" dish) that will become a tradition with my family. Thanks a bunch for a delicious recipe!! Shelly P.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      This is a really good recipe--and like always, I made a few changes. I used one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (and think I will drain it a little bit next time). I also used 1 cup of Italian-style breadcrumbs instead of the bread and 1 tsp Italian seasoning blend instead of the oregano. To make it a complete meal, I added 1 lb of sliced Italian sausage. Next time, I might try using croutons--and there will be a next time! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      This had really great flavor and was easy to put together. I had a really large zucchini from my sister's garden to use up and this was great. I only had very thin sliced bread on hand, had just run out of our home made, so I used extra but I still wasn't a huge fan of the bread and it could be because they were such thin slices. I think I'd like to find something to use in place of the bread and maybe a way to add some protein (preferably a vegetarian option) like beans or something, but I will definitely make this again the next time I have zucchini or squash to use!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe from prep to clean up to calories to fat! Awesome healthy dish! I served this over a bed of penne rice pasta and it was delicious! I didn't make any changes to the recipe, but next time will add 2 more slices of bread just b/c that was my favorite part :). I used pepperidge farm oatmeal bread and it soaked up every ounce of flavor from each of the ingredients and tasted DEVINE. I packed up 2/3 cup servings and froze the leftovers, but kept some out for my lunch today. I can't wait to dig in. Oh, I used one zucchini and 1 large yellow squash for color and variety. This is a KEEPER! Exactly what I have been looking for. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      Loved this. I did add a little more tomato as I halved the recipe and only had a 14 ounce can instead of 8 oz. I will be making this a lot as soon as I can get farm fresh zucchini. I used two yellow squash this time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      Excellent, excellent, excellent. Served with braised chicken and this really was the star of the meal. I swapped 1/2 tsp garlic powder for the garlic salt but otherwise followed exactly. I ended up simmering it for longer because of oven constraints and only needed to cook it in the oven for 15 minutes or so. Used regular old arnold bread, husband didn't like the bread but it was my favorite part! Thanks for the healthy keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Yum! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I used 3 zucchini and skipped the bell pepper. I'll definitely make this easy and delicious recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      Quite good and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Delicious! I made as directed except I used olive oil instead of marg. Thank you, connie51!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      What a refreshing alternative to cheesy, fatty squash casserole. The texture and flavor of this dish are incredible. I also subbed rotfl for one can of tomatoes. Added 1 clove fresh pressed garlic instead of garlic salt. Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      This makes a really good and healthy side dish.I use olive oil instead of the margarine. I've made this twice last month for my family, and I imagine it would work well as a pot luck dish. Surprisingly filling too with whole grain bread cubes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      This is delicious. No heavy cream or cheeses to make good veggies ratting. Tasted even better the next day. Served with spaghetti. Tasted great with a little of the sauce on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      Best way to eat veggies and squash. I gave it a try on a whim and everyone was avoiding eating dinner when I said "squash casserole" but when they did try it, they all had more and then stored some for their lunches the next day. Prepping so many veggies took time, but it made enough for 2 or 3 meals. Also, try using chopped bits of smoked gouda and quartered meatballs in it next time-- i did and it will now be used in our house at least once a month! btw: this house typically hates squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I'm looking forward to trying this recipe with vegetables fresh from the garden. I used store bought stuffing herb and onion croutons because I had a partial bag lying around. I could make this dish a meal. I like the way it all went together starting with the onions and pepper, squash, tomatoes, and then the bread/croutons and seasonings. I enjoyed making and eating this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This was good and an interesting change from the regular zuchhini but not really mind blowing for me. I am giving it 4 stars though since I altered the recipe by forgetting to sautee the veggies before baking them and had to bake the casserole a little longer. I added some garlic for an additional punch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Great recipe! This was so easy to prepare and very delicious. It was a great way to use up some of my extra garden vegetables! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini or Yellow Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    51%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 571.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites