192 Reviews

I am watching the dish bubble in the oven right now. Thanks for a good way to feed the family some of the fruits of the garden. I tweaked the recipe some, but nothing worth mentioning here. I will likely try this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oscareyscarecrow1 August 26, 2015

Great starter recipe! I made a few small changes though. Substitutions: I used an additional zucchini. I doubled the meat, garlic, and seasonings (I used Italian seasoning instead of the separate ones). I used 1 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb of each Italian sausage & maple sausage.  I used an extra can of tomato paste for the consistency I was looking for. I used a block of cream cheese instead because I didn't have any ricotta or cottage cheese on hand, and it was so amazing. My husband preferred it to the cottage cheese/ricotta. Next time I'll add sautéed mushrooms too. 

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kirsty.bourne August 13, 2015

Doubled this recipe. Left out the onions due to personal preference. Used half the water, twice the cheese, twice the meat (2lbs), and twice the garlic (4 cloves). It turned out absolutely perfect. Just as good as any noodle lasagna I've ever made. Definitely will be making again and sharing with friends. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane R. July 22, 2015

Loved the recipe! I followed other reviews and doubled the maet and spices. I also used double the ricotta cheese. Overall it fed 4 people who don't eat a lot . In the future I'll double what I made in a 9x13 pan like another reviewer said.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NessaContessa April 30, 2015

Love this dish. :) Have made it several times with whichever ingredients I have on hand: ground turkey, chicken, or beef and it's all been good. I announced that this is what is for dinner this evening, and got a "Yay!" from the living room. ha Thanks for the pasta alternative. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
voodooqueenbee October 12, 2014

I just made this with 1 lb of beef.. I cooked the garlic with the onions and beef and added salt and pepper while it cooked. Otherwise I did it just as it said and its delicious! Pleasantly suprised on this one. Great way to cut out the pasta. Still has the same texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle H. October 06, 2014

Really good I tripled the ingredients and added ground hot sausage to the meat and added red hot pepper flakes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stellabeth1_12243850 July 21, 2014

This was a wonderful basic recipe that allowed me to make changes. Instead of ground beef, I used ground chicken. I did not have enough ricotta cheese and I did not want to buy more (I kind of felt like it would be too much cheese since I was using shredded cheddar and shredded Mexican blend cheeses.) I used a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes which was seasoned with garlic/oregano/basil, and a garlic/basil/oregano spaghetti sauce instead of the listed spices as those two items had all the spices needed for a tasty dish. As well, I layered the bottom of the pan with zucchini and then proceeded to do the layering. This was a very easy dish to make and so so delicious. You can't go wrong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenAlice May 30, 2014

Awesome meal, I doubled the recipe to make a full size lasagne, I also boiled the zucchini for about 3 minutes to make it softer (good way to fool the children). I love healthy alternatives for my family and this will go into my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missathena March 02, 2014

I'm making this tonight. I changed it up a bit, I used sea salt and ground fresh pepper on the zucchini as I layered it, used veggie crumbles (Morning Star) to replace the meat, roasted garlic tomato paste, 1tsp fennel, use ricotta cheese, and diced up baby portabella mushrooms (cooked with crumbles and after the last zucchini layer, before shredded cheese).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ramona J. March 02, 2014
Zucchini Lasagna (Lasagne) - Low Carb