59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This is a really flavorful way to prepare zucchini. I added some lemon zest and grated parmesan, as well as some dried herbs (to make up for using plain bread crumbs). Then, I baked the cakes on a greased baking sheet for 15 minutes at 400, flipped them, and baked for an additional 15 min at 450 to get them nice and browned. Don't worry if they seem a little soft when they come out of the oven, they firm up as they cool a little. They even had great texture when reheated. My whole family enjoyed this recipe, especially my toddler.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyloves2cook September 09, 2009

A couple of years ago after an emergency room visit my mother was told not to eat fish again. With this recipe she can have her "cake" and eat it too! She loved it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlk August 12, 2002

My brother makes these and I keep forgetting to get the recipe from him. I'm not that big on zucchini but these are fantastic!! Thanks for posting!
Oh, maybe you should have tagged this Zucchini "MOCK Crab" Cakes since some have tried this and don't think they taste like crab. I don't know how that's possible since there isn't a STITCH of crab listed in the indredients - go figure! LOL

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dana01 August 19, 2010

I thought these were very tasty and would give 5 stars if they were called zucchini cakes, but as far as tasting like crab cakes, I'm sorry, they just don't. Not the same texture, not the same flavor, not the same smell and definently not the same color. Once I got that they were just very good zucchini cakes, I thoroughly enjoyed them and will definently be making these "zucchini cakes" again. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChiSox#1 July 19, 2010

I made this exactly as printed and I know the next time I will make a few modifications...
1. I will double the Old Bay
2. I will use unseasoned breadcrumbs
3. I will use a dash of lemon juice

It tasted good, being a lover of crab with a shellfish allergy who grew up on the coast, I had high hopes for a crab replacement. This didn't do it for me. That being said, it was a good zucchini fritter once I added more Old Bay to it. I would make these again to use up zucchini.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sedohnah July 17, 2012

We loved these! My daughter-in-law is from Maryland and said that these taste just like crab cakes. I'm allergic to shell fish so my experience with real crab cakes is very limited. But I thought these were delicious. We followed Chocoholic #3 's idea and baked these. We also decreased the butter to two tablespoons - we doubled the recipe! They held together beautifully. Being new vegetarians we were thrilled to find something so tastey and easy to put together. My son dubbed them 'crab fakes', I thought that was a great name. So we'll be having 'crab fakes' very often! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsGeorge January 06, 2010

I love animals and don't eat meat. It's always fun to try new recipes, and this was one of the best. I removed the excess water by putting the zucchini in my salad spinner. I would probably add some lemon juice and finely chopped celery next time. Recipes similar to this are on several sites, and I took a suggestion to bake rather than fry these. I eliminated the flour and frying oil but used spray oil on a foil-lined baking sheet and baked the cakes at 400 degrees for approximately 25-30 minutes, turning halfway through. Thanks, yooper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic #3 October 15, 2009

This is a great way to use up that bumper crop of zucchini. I can only eat so much zucchini bread. My 17 mo. old really liked these. I would suggest that you drain or squeeze the zucchini. Otherwise, you need to add more bread crumbs to get the right texture and it can taste rather doughy. I always add more Old Bay, about double, and plain bread crumbs. Seasoned crumbs compete too much with the Old Bay in my opinion. Next time I'm going to try dredging them in cracker crumbs rather than flour, I'm hoping it will make a crisper crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefboy August 20, 2004

These are a perfect use for those zucchinis you find in your garden that have somehow grown to the size of a canoe. I have made these twice now - first time as written, second time with twice the amount of Old Bay - they needed more to suit my taste. I shred and freeze a lot of zucchini - I'm happy to have a recipe to use instead of zucchini bread! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugrmag78 September 24, 2014
Zucchini "Crab" Cakes