Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2009

      Wow! This is a really flavorful way to prepare zucchini. I added some lemon zest and grated parmesan, as well as some dried herbs (to make up for using plain bread crumbs). Then, I baked the cakes on a greased baking sheet for 15 minutes at 400, flipped them, and baked for an additional 15 min at 450 to get them nice and browned. Don't worry if they seem a little soft when they come out of the oven, they firm up as they cool a little. They even had great texture when reheated. My whole family enjoyed this recipe, especially my toddler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      A couple of years ago after an emergency room visit my mother was told not to eat fish again. With this recipe she can have her "cake" and eat it too! She loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2002

    • on August 19, 2010

      My brother makes these and I keep forgetting to get the recipe from him. I'm not that big on zucchini but these are fantastic!! Thanks for posting!
      Oh, maybe you should have tagged this Zucchini "MOCK Crab" Cakes since some have tried this and don't think they taste like crab. I don't know how that's possible since there isn't a STITCH of crab listed in the indredients - go figure! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      I thought these were very tasty and would give 5 stars if they were called zucchini cakes, but as far as tasting like crab cakes, I'm sorry, they just don't. Not the same texture, not the same flavor, not the same smell and definently not the same color. Once I got that they were just very good zucchini cakes, I thoroughly enjoyed them and will definently be making these "zucchini cakes" again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      We loved these! My daughter-in-law is from Maryland and said that these taste just like crab cakes. I'm allergic to shell fish so my experience with real crab cakes is very limited. But I thought these were delicious. We followed Chocoholic #3 's idea and baked these. We also decreased the butter to two tablespoons - we doubled the recipe! They held together beautifully. Being new vegetarians we were thrilled to find something so tastey and easy to put together. My son dubbed them 'crab fakes', I thought that was a great name. So we'll be having 'crab fakes' very often! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I love animals and don't eat meat. It's always fun to try new recipes, and this was one of the best. I removed the excess water by putting the zucchini in my salad spinner. I would probably add some lemon juice and finely chopped celery next time. Recipes similar to this are on several sites, and I took a suggestion to bake rather than fry these. I eliminated the flour and frying oil but used spray oil on a foil-lined baking sheet and baked the cakes at 400 degrees for approximately 25-30 minutes, turning halfway through. Thanks, yooper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Very much enjoyed these, great way to use an abundance of zucchini! Like several others, I baked them, turned out excellently, very more-ish! Thank you, Yooper, a recipe that is well worth trying and I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Love this recipe! I make these, and add poached eggs, toasted English Muffins, and hollandise sauce to make Eggs Benedict. Like one of the other reviewers, I bake them. I also use unseasoned bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I used an extra egg and 1 parsnip. I just kept adding old bay until it reached our taste. My husband put lemon juice and sriracha on his and I put tarter sauce and lemon on mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Having an oversupply of zucchini can make you desperate and willing to try anything. This is one recipe that worked out well. Since I didn't have the Old Bay seasoning I added some regular seasoned salt and about a tablespoon of snipped fresh sage. I also baked rather than fried and that came out well.
      Definitely recommend to anyone coping with lots of zucchini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      I made this exactly as printed and I know the next time I will make a few modifications...
      1. I will double the Old Bay
      2. I will use unseasoned breadcrumbs
      3. I will use a dash of lemon juice

      It tasted good, being a lover of crab with a shellfish allergy who grew up on the coast, I had high hopes for a crab replacement. This didn't do it for me. That being said, it was a good zucchini fritter once I added more Old Bay to it. I would make these again to use up zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Good but they don't taste like crab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      These don't taste like crab cakes to me, but they're close. I baked mine in glass crab-shaped ramekins at 400%B0F for 20 minutes, then 450%B0 for 10 minutes. I used olive oil instead of butter, and I used two eggs because the mixture looked like it needed more egg. I should've used a lot less black pepper (my own fault), and I wish the grated zucchini had gotten more cooked (maybe I'll blanche first next time). This is still tasty, and worth making again!

      Next time, I might also try some of my typical crab cake add-ins: finely diced red bell pepper, finely chopped celery, parsley, dill, greek yogurt, lemon juice, Dijon mustard, or Worcestershire sauce. Of course, it's also pretty nice how simple this recipe is ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      We really enjoyed these zucchini cakes tonight. I did add some seasoned salt. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      These were very good I did add 1 more egg. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      These were pretty good, not as a crab cake substitute, but they were good nonetheless. I think I would prefer a different type of seasoning in them. They were also pretty mushy on the inside. They might have been too thick, but I couldn't get them much thinner without falling apart. I think I will try these again with some modifications, perhaps italian seasoning and parmesan would be good rather than old bay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      These were pretty good and I will probably make them again. My husband thought they tasted like crab cakes--I wasn't quite convinced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

    • on January 12, 2010

      These are easy to make, and very tasty. I baked them, and thought they where crispy on the outside, and creamy on the inside. Thanks Yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 470.1
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    69%
    Total Fat 36.1 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 602.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites