130 Reviews

OMG!!! Wonderful!! I had two zucchini that "magically" grew enormous overnight. My family doesn't care for zucchini bread, so I was looking for something to do with them. Saw this and thought, cobbler? This is incredible! I made exactly as written except omitting the nuts (kids aren't nut fans). It's nice getting in a veggie and they have no idea!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystalcalkin July 06, 2010

This was truly a fabulous recipe! Only thing I didnt remove the seeds, those dont bother me, nor those who ate this and loved it. Would taste great with some ice cream!!!! Love it, thank you so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valeriefromWI August 24, 2009

What a great way to use zucchini! I brought this to work today and it's gotten great reviews. It's been so much fun telling people that they are eating zucchini....not apples! I was worried about how it would turn out. It seemed to be so runny when I was mixing it up, but it turned out great. I added extra cinnamon, left out the nuts, and used 1/2 cup of butter. I think it would be awesome warmed up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Thank you so much for posting this great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny25 August 21, 2009

I just made this for the first time. I only used half the sugar since we don't like overly sweet desserts. It was still pretty sweet, but as most of the reviews said, it was suprisingly good. My family was skeptical, but they tried it and asked for more.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rrah_irem July 04, 2009

Shocking and Amazing at the same time!!! This sounded really gross when I found it in a search. I decided to trust the community and am VERY glad I did! This is a great recipe for those huge zucchini that my mom said you shouldn't use! I used one half of a white cake mix and really liked it. I've taken to making two when I make it and then give it away. I never tell anyone what it truly is until they've eaten it. We all know how food psychology works... No one has disliked it before or after the "reveal." In fact, everyone has LOVED it! Thanks, Melodie!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie R. September 08, 2008

This was good, but really sweet! I'd leave out the sugar next time or at least reduce it. Otherwise wonderful! No one could tell it was zucchini, and it was a great way to get rid of all the zucchini we have from the garden.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HulaHealthPrincess August 16, 2008

When I made this the other day, I substituted 1/2 box of pineapple supreme cake mix for the white and omitted nuts. Taste more like an apple pie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nana gobin July 16, 2008

I made this for a cookout over the weekend. It's very different. Most people liked it; some didn't. I had no idea what size a Jiffy cake mix is, so I just used half of an 18.25 oz. box like another reviewer. I'm not sure I would use zucchini for dessert again, but it was pretty good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover July 13, 2008

This was pretty good - I used 1/2 a standard yellow cake mix - and this was still super sweet. I also wonder if I cooked the zucchini to be too tender? It all sort of fell apart and turned to mush when it was done cooking. I did have to toss in 2 chopped apples as I didn't have enough zucchini - so that helped with the consistency....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker May 03, 2008

Loved the flavor of the "filling" but used a regular yellow cake mix instead of Jiffy, which my store didn't carry. It just turned out WAY too sweet, likely due the amount of cake mix, since most Jiffy mixes are in tiny boxes. Will try again if I can find Jiffy...otherwise, I'm not sure I can handle the sugar coma I felt like I was in after this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NavyWife'nMom March 07, 2008
Zucchini Cobbler