31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake made my kitchen (and my car, lol) smell soooo good! I was a little on the fence about the whole chocolate and zucchini thing, but this cake totally eliminated that doubt! I made this in a regular Bundt pan, and it took the full hour to bake. My poor naked zested orange looked so sad sitting on the countertop, so I juiced it and used the fresh squeezed juice in the glaze. I didn't have any walnuts in the house, so I replaced them with chopped pecans. After letting the cake cool in the pan for ~15 minutes, I flipped it onto a cake platter, poked holes all over it with a skewer, and poured the glaze over the still-warm cake so it would soak in instead of drip off. I brought this to work with me to share (hence the heavenly smell in my car), and I think I converted a couple people to zucchini cake lovers with this. Who would've thought that cocoa, vanilla, cinnamon and orange would all play so nicely with zucchini?! Thanks for posting this gem! Made for The Honeys for ZWT8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess August 08, 2012

Sorry, but I didn't like this cake very much. It needed a much richer chocolate flavor and more orange flavor too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alvinakatz January 17, 2011

Fantastic cake. I baked in 2-8" round pans, and had extra batter to make 6 muffins. The cakes too 50 minutes in the oven and the muffins 20 minutes in the toaster oven. The glaze is wonderful, but makes so much more then I needed. Even cutting it in half, there was excess. I think it would be difficult to make a 1/4 of the glaze recipe thought. :) Thanks Leslie for another wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 August 01, 2010

With a light, moist texture, orange glaze and kaboom you have a winning recipe! I used a dark cocoa in the batter and did not change anything else. I know a lot of the reviewers felt it needed amped up with orange but I liked the subtle flavor found in the glaze and cake. Just blended so well with our taste buds. Found and made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom August 11, 2012

We were having a zucchini Sunday at our church's fellowship hour, so I brought this cake, it got mixed reviews, some felt it needed more in the chocolate department, others really liked it. Next time I will try for a more chocolate flavor and use cocoa. Made for ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 07, 2012

Anything that can make zucchini taste this good gets 5 stars. This recipe produces a very moist and delicious cake. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added some orange extract to ramp up the orange flavour a bit. My own suggestion to those looking for a richer chocolate flavour; try using a premium quality cocoa powder for more of a chocolate "Wow". You could also substitute the orange juice in the glaze with an orange liqueur for a more adult taste. I would not hesitate to serve this cake to company. Thanks for the recipe, Leslie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith July 19, 2012

Fantastic Cake I added some chocolate chips to it and used Splenda instead of sugar
Made for ZWT% for Cooks with Dirty faces, Made this again and this time used the bundt pan. Awsome moist cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda September 21, 2010

What A Fabulous Cake!!! I made this exactly as written with the exception of adding a tiny bit of orange extract to the batter and the icing. I also used a 10 " springform pan instead of a bundt pan and it was done in the same amount of time (50 minutes in my oven). DH hates zucchini but loved this cake. I also shared this with a friend and my neighbors. All agreed that this was a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing Leslie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodFromSicily August 27, 2009

These are amazingly good. I made cupcakes and I don't think they could have turned out any uglier, but the taste it just great. I followed the recipe exactly. Just enough orange and so moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodsmi June 27, 2009

Big hit with everyone at our get-away beach weekend. The kids especially loved it, and I had to smile knowing my no. 2 son was eating something with zucchini in it (a vegetable he refuses to touch!). The glaze set up nicely and I liked the subtle orange flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 25, 2009
Zucchini Chocolate Orange Cake