125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved it...couldn't keep out of it;) Even my picky kids (husband included) loved it. Easy to make...turns out sinfully chocolate, moist cake..kept for close to a week without drying out. Didn't add the nuts either Will be making again and again...Thanks~especially when I was getting tired of eating zucchini!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaDBcooksforfive July 24, 2009

I am not a huge cake fan, but have way to much zucchini in my garden and needed another way to use them. This cake is wonderful!!!! The entire family (including me) can't get enough of it. The kids don't like nuts so that is the only change I made. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ven-Jor Mom July 21, 2009

I made this cake months ago and never reviewed it. It was delicious my only complaint was with the frosting I made for the top. Next time I will try frosting that is a tad less sweet or maybe no frosting at all

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmomof2 May 03, 2009

The best chocolate cake ever!! I used the applesauce for oil substitute and left in the butter. Moist, rich and oh so chocolatey! UPDATE: I've made this many times using a gluten-free flour mix so my celiac stepdaughter can have it. It's just as good as the original recipe; in fact, some of the family prefer the smoother texture from the GF flour. Either way, this recipe's a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 April 11, 2009

Good snack cake. I didn't frost it, just sprinkled a little powdered sugar over the top. I used my 10" springform pan and it was just enough. Any smaller and we would have had disaster! I replaced the oil with applesauce, but kept the butter. I also used a touch more cocoa, but just because I wanted to use up the container. I didn't use nuts, so I sprinkled a few white chips in with the chocolate ones. It came out very nicely. The family was split on how they rated it. The men in the family gave this 10 plus stars. 2 of the girls gave it a yuck, and 2 of the girls gave it a 4. So it's got a 4. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ February 23, 2009

This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except I had no nuts or choc chips. It tastes so moist and chocolatey. YUM! Thanks for this really great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisNick January 25, 2009

This is an excellent recipe. I make it for my kids to sneak in extra veggies. I usually do not add the choc chips or nuts, just top with a little whipped cream. They love it !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Philamom November 10, 2008

So good. I've never been a real fan of chocolate cake, and I think it is because of the texture. When I ask my family what kind of cake they want that ALWAYS say chocolate- groan. I love carrot cake so I thought I'd give a vegetable chocolate cake a try - sure glad I did. This recipe makes 24 little cupcakes (that's how my 3 year old likes his cake). He always complains when he sees me add the zucchini, but strangely enough, once it is out of the oven he doesn't complain lol! The first time I added icing as it was for a birthday, but now I don't even do that. The addition of the chocolate chips give it the extra decadence, so icing isn't necessary. Thanks for the only chocolate cake I'll ever make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thecarmonas October 06, 2008

Made as directed adding 1 tsp of cloves to batter to give it a little spice. Cake was better the 2nd & 3rd day as it seemed to get moister. The cake was a little thinner than I'd hope for after baking, but I'm sure that's my fault after seeing the other pics. The flavor was good but didn't hit the spot like I thought it would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 August 25, 2008
Zucchini Chocolate Cake