130 Reviews

I just used a recipe almost exactly like this from an old church cookbook. Only difference was mine didn't have the chocolate chips. You can leave them out and only cook the cake for 45 minutes. I did notice that mine was pretty crumbly. I patted dry my zucchini and that may be why. Great way to use up zucchini!! Kids loved it. Awesome it doesn't even need frosting, makes a great snack cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel August 04, 2009

My mom requested we try this for her birthday. I followed the recipe except for subbing in mini chips and leaving out the nuts. It was done in 56 minutes. It was moist, delicious, and everyone loved it. Thanks for this great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth August 03, 2009

This is now My Favorite chocolate cake. I have tons of zucchini this year and I am gonna shread some up and put in the freezer just to have this cake all year round!!! I use vanilla pudding that is made with heavy wipping cream instead of milk! It is the PERFECT frosting for this!!! Thank you for this AWESOME RECIPE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsybartender August 03, 2009

One of my daycare families has brought me zucchini every day this week. What to do with it?? I found this recipe, and I'm ready for more!! I fed it to my daycare kids and they gobbled it right up. I love that there are veggies in it, hidden in the form of cake. Heehee. Granted there's also butter, sugar, etc.. but still. I followed directions exactly as written. Sprinkled powdered sugar on top, and viola! Yummy treat. Thanks for the great zucchini recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boysmom July 30, 2009

This recipe was great. I can not get my family to eat zucchini, but I was able to get them to try the chocolate cake. They admitted that it was really good. I took a piece to my parents and they said that you couldn't even tell that it had zucchini in it. The cake tasted like a delicious chocolate cake. It was a real hit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelleg July 29, 2009

Loved it...couldn't keep out of it;) Even my picky kids (husband included) loved it. Easy to make...turns out sinfully chocolate, moist cake..kept for close to a week without drying out. Didn't add the nuts either Will be making again and again...Thanks~especially when I was getting tired of eating zucchini!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaDBcooksforfive July 24, 2009

I am not a huge cake fan, but have way to much zucchini in my garden and needed another way to use them. This cake is wonderful!!!! The entire family (including me) can't get enough of it. The kids don't like nuts so that is the only change I made. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ven-Jor Mom July 21, 2009

I made this cake months ago and never reviewed it. It was delicious my only complaint was with the frosting I made for the top. Next time I will try frosting that is a tad less sweet or maybe no frosting at all

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmomof2 May 03, 2009

The best chocolate cake ever!! I used the applesauce for oil substitute and left in the butter. Moist, rich and oh so chocolatey! UPDATE: I've made this many times using a gluten-free flour mix so my celiac stepdaughter can have it. It's just as good as the original recipe; in fact, some of the family prefer the smoother texture from the GF flour. Either way, this recipe's a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 April 11, 2009
Zucchini Chocolate Cake