Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2008

      This is an excellent moist cake. I made it with chocolate chips but omitted the walnuts because some family members don't like them. I used a chocolate butter cream icing for the top. I trucked it 4 1/2 hours away from home and kept it in the fridge for two days till all the family members could be together for my mom's birthday. The cake was so moist and delicious, even my brother who hates everything and has to make some comment on what should be different was too busy stuffing his mouth with another piece of cake. An old friend used to make a chocolate zucchini cake that I would love to get a hold of her recipe from one of her family members, but this cake is a definate keeper for me and will be made again with the abundance of zucs coming shortly. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This is a keeper...for sure! I took the advice of others and used applesauce and 1 TBSP of oil. I used buttermilk with mine also. The cake is very moist. I did squeeze out as much liquid as possible from the zucchini after I shredded it. You really can't tell there is zucchini in the cake. It's very good. I was tempted to put an entire bag of chocolate chips in the mix but I followed the recipe and was glad I did. It's just the right amount of chips! Can't wait to make this for my vegetarian grandkids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      My zucchini is coming in and is out of control made this yesterday. What a great and moist cake never would know there is zucchini in it for those who hold there nose up. The only change I made is instead of flour I used cocoa to dust the pan and used a bundt pan and drizzles an icing on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Wow! My DH said this was the best chocolate cake ever! It is moist and so yummy! A new way to get veggies into my family. I don't feel as bad about treats when they have zucchini in them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Yummy and Chocolaty!! I have been making this cake for about a year. I bring it to almost every potluck I attend. It gets eaten up so fast that my family never gets to have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Fabulous! Everyone (including the kids) that had some loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      It's even better than how everyone has described it! ;) Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I like Zucchini bread/muffins so I thought I would try Chocolate. I made cup cakes. My husband & I didn't think it was anything special. My 1 year old like it I let him eat part of one minus the chocolate chips since in all of them the choc-chips fell to the bottom & were stuck to the wraper. It tasted to much like Zucchini which in a choclate cup cake wasn't a good thing to us. It would have been better if the choclate chips stayed in the middle. I brought them to my work since we didn't like them a couple people had one & said they were good but no one went for a 2nd & several days later they are still in my work fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Actually it was my daughter who made it, it was moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Made this yesterday and they are great!! I like that I can have a healthier dessert and get an extra serving of veggies. I made mine into cupcakes (grab and go snack) and they turned out perfect. Moist and tender! I used mini chips and pecans and got great results!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Great! I followed the recipe exact as directed. Very easy to make. Turned out wonderful. I did put cream cheese frosting on it. It was a very nice compliment to the cake. Thank you so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Pretty good! We grew zucchini this year and I was searching for recipes to use it up. My cake came out a little dry. I'll try it with the applesauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      I did make a change, due to what was on hand, and it was still very good. I used dried buttermilk which I always have in the pantry. I did use dark chocolate chips. and when I took it out of the oven I put chocolate chips on the top, where they melted and I spread them around. I think this would also be good with powdered sugar sprinkled on top. Thanks for the nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      What a delicious way to eat zucchini. I used applesauce in place of the butter to reduce the fat a little bit. I doubled the cocoa because I wanted it extra chocolaty, and added 1 tsp. cinnamon just to make it interesting. I also made it into mini muffins. Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Amazing!! Super moist and absolutely delicious. It also stays moist for several days, not that it lasted for days at my house. However too much cake was sent home with my inlaws and I discovered it a few days later. I consider it unacceptable to let chocolate cake go uneated so I had to take a nibble and amazingly it was still very moist. Well of course my little nibble turned into devouring the rest of their uneated cake. Thanks for such a great recipe, I will definately make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      This cake is absolutely scrumptious! I made 2 dozen cupcakes instead of a 9x13 cake and iced them with chocolate crm. cheese frosting (see my recipe if you'd like) and garnished them with chopped walnuts. My 5 year old loved them and I felt good knowing he's getting veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Wonderfully moist and very easy to make! This one is stored for keeping in my cookbook for future! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Excellent - super easy, great flavor and moist texture. Thanks for sharing, CharlotteJ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      my non-vegetable eating son loved it. I would give you 5 stars for that alone - but the rest of us loved it too. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Very good and moist. Great flavor. I added pecans instead. Will make again. Even the grand-kids like this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    47%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 34.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 261.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites