Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2002

      Man, oh man! Exceptionally moist. I substituted applesauce for the oil (left in the butter)and greased the pan for baking. My 6-year old added ingredients in no particular order and it still turned out fantastic! I'll never use another recipe for this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      Made this into moist, delicious muffins. Didn't tell the fussy ones there was zucchini in them until they had finished and declared they delcious. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      Out of all the Zucchini Chocolate Cake recipes, this was the one I chose and I'm glad I did (and so was my husband). Very good, moist cake. I changed a few things: first spray & flour the pan, whenever a cake mix asks for oil I liquify the same amount of bananas, in this case I used 3/4 cup bananas plus 1/4 cup oil. Could use 50/50.(Try it, you'll be glad you did)also used 3 eggs because I had so many, and I used whole wheat and unbleached flour combined. Thank you for this recipe, will make it again. Vicky P.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      My husband was hankerin' for a piece of chocolate cake so I whipped this one up for him. He never knew that I put zucchini in it! I did put a chocolate frosting on it(sweet tooth). Thanks for a yummy cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Yum! Moist & delicious--and not too sweet. Be sure to grease the pan, though. We'll make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      This is great and so moist that you don't need to frost it. Very easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I hate to add anything negative, but I was duped by this same recipe twice and thought it might be worth adding my two cents. I made this a few days ago and when I finished mixing the batter realized that I had made this very cake last year and had forgotten it was the same recipe. The recipe does not have enough cocoa in it to make it truely chocolately. It's a very light colored batter.... and not very chocolately cake either. 1/4 cup wasn't even close. I tried to add a little at the end when I realized it, but it was too little too late. If you are looking for a nice dark chocolate zucchini cake/bread, this one may leave you wanting more... it needs a LOT more cocoa. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      We loved this cake, and make it all the time. I freeze individual pieces, and then we can pull one out to take for lunch whenever we want. I use 1/2 sugar/splenda, and also applesauce for the oil. The chips do seems to sink to the bottom, so I will try the mini chips next time. Love it though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      I love when I find a recipe that can be made as is and it turns out perfect! This makes a nice, thick batter that spread nicely into my 9x13, was done baking at exactly 1 hour, and tasted wonderful. We had a hard time letting it cool, it smelled so good. The cake was moist with a good crumb and had a rich chocolate flavor. If I were to change anything (and I don't know that I will) it would be to cut back the sugar to 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 cup, we don't eat many sweets and this came across sweeter than we are used to.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Great recipe. Very moist and flavor was great. Made into muffins, which I had a horrible time getting out of the muffin tins despite using my usual product which works great with other recipes. Will make again, next time with muffin tin liners!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Wow! Fantastic cake!!! We all huddled around the pan after it cooled and the best afternoon snack ever! Thank you so much for this wholesome dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      Charlie - Fantastic cake!!! Not a single person who tasted it, could tell that zucchini was an ingredient. You could ice it, but it stood on its own, without it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      this cake was wonderful.Followed recipe just as posted and made 2 cakes. I frosted one with chocolate cream cheese frosting and left the other plain. both cakes were gone in 2 days. My 15 yr. old son hates any green vegetable so I didn't tell him there was zucchini in this cake. he took some to his friends house and between them I think they ate half the cake I did tell him later it was zucchini cake ...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      thank you for a wonderful, moist, delicious cake recipe. I had some zucchini and buttermilk to get rid of; this was a great way to do it. Mary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      My husband took this cake to work and it got good reviews. People said it was moist and tasty. I think it could probably use more cocoa, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out very bitter. Also, I did not appreciated the view of green pieces of zucchini in my cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      This is the second time I've made this recipe. It is so good! I did double the cocoa and I used dark chocolate chips, mmmmmmm.... delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Great flavor! I changed the cocoa to 1/2 cup, otherwise I followed the recipe. I made it in a bundt pan. I thought it was a little dry. I will be remaking it today in a 9x13 pan. I was thinking of substituting the butter for oil to see if that will make it more moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Very, very good. This cake was moist and just the right amount of sweet. I added a cup of coconut and used pecans because I was out of walnuts. Next time, I will add frosting and this will be a nice version of German chocolate cake. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Made the correction of 3/4 cup cocoa and left out the chocolate chips and nuts. I also used palm sugar to make it healthier. I'm glad I greatly increased the cocoa was dark and delicious!
      Everything else was great very moist and lovely!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    47%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 34.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 261.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites