39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really delicious and so simple to make, and was a good change from the regular yellow squash casserole we always have. I prepared this casserole a little different - instead of adding fresh sliced tomatoes (there weren't any good ones in the grocery store), I added a 15 oz can of diced seasoned tomatoes. I melted the butter in the dish first, added the cooked zuchini, the sliced onions, salt & pepper, and then poured the tomatoes over, and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Very good!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette March 12, 2002

Great recipe, I added some grated skim milk mozzerella, melted on top and made it main course Thanks Jess 96

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess96 March 04, 2002

We enjoyed this very much, even the kids who won't eat green "things" or onions. Next time I would cut the tomatoes and onions in half as they were sort of difficult to eat. I also added a little granulated garlic to each layer and used pecorino romano cheese. This is definitely a keeper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail11 April 16, 2002

We also liked this vegetable dish, very easy to make and tasty too. I used a mixture of Parmesan and cheddar for the topping.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* March 26, 2002

I can't imagine anyone preparing this marvelous casserole and not rating it a 5-star "keeper". Stated simply, it is delicious and easy to make. I modified it slightly, using 1.5 pounds of zucchini (3 zucchinis), substituting garlic salt for conventional sea salt, and addiding a sprinkling of "Italian Seasoning" [made up of marjoram, thyme, rosemary, savory, sage, oregano and basil] to each layer. Finally, let me emphasize Caryn's admonition "Top off . . . with lots of parmesan cheese. The more the better!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mitch Cushman August 05, 2002

Super easy and so delicious... the flavors of the vegetables really complement each other. I scaled it down to fit in a little loaf pan for just myself... didn't change anything else. Wonderful!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trc April 09, 2003

Fast, easy & delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joygi February 16, 2003

Absolutely fantastic. Made this for a gathering at work...was asked by a number of people to share the recipe! Now, instead of letting those unwanted zucchini "go" in my garden, I've been keeping up with picking them. A great way to use zucchini & tomatos....delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanneW September 26, 2002

This was easy to prepare and tasty! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover2 August 30, 2002

Absolutely fantastic!!!!! Will certainly make again. My wife saved some for tomorrow's lunch. Thank you for sharing!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James Craig August 26, 2002
Zucchini Casserole