16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made a half recipe and reduced the cooking time as it was a single layer. Turned out great! <br/>Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word August 15, 2013

Give this another 5-stars for me..this is AWESOME!!! I loved the fact that you didn't have to precook the zucchini to keep it from getting too watery. The "gravy" was to die-for!! My 12 year old granddaughter whispered before she went home, "would you save some of that for me tomorrow?" Even my husband thought it was wonderful! This is a keeper for sure!! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy July 16, 2013

I love this casserole and could have eaten the whole thing by myself! I added some italian seasoning, used reduced sodium soy sauce and omitted the salt. Thanks for another great way to use zucchini!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertRose15 June 05, 2013

I have been working hard to find great zucchini recipes for my family and this one was great! I opted to try using one zucchini and one yellow squash, a yellow onion, and very little butter. Based on other reviews, I also opted to cut back a bit on the soy sauce. All that said, this dish and a healthy serving of beans and rice on the side made for a delicious vegetarian dinner! So easy...and the other reviewers are correct-- it DOES taste like french onion soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NicSin August 10, 2010

I really enjoyed this. It was perfect served with mashed potatoes! The juice tasted like onion gravy or (as others said) like french onion soup. Right into the permanent recipe box. Made exactly as written, used a vidalia onion which I recommend. Thanks for the recipe Lvs2cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma May 19, 2010

I agree with FLYing4Me...it tastes like french onion soup! LOVED it. Mine did take longer than 45 minutes to cook, but that is okay with me. It was delicious. :-) Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyJan2 August 04, 2009

This tasted great. The soy sauce complemented this nicely I cut it down slightly but followed the rest as stated. Will make again, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmusolf707 July 20, 2009

This was delicious. I skipped the butter and still loved it. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO February 01, 2009

This recipe sounded too simple to be special but - WOW! I had no soy sauce on hand so I used about a tablespoon of tamari, instead. Also, I left out the butter. It was fabulous and was the first dish emptied at Thanksgiving dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hezz November 27, 2006

This was really a great side dish. We decided it had a similar taste to french onion soup...go figure...I guess it was the combo of the onions and soy sauce. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Lvs2Cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me September 06, 2006
Zucchini Casserole