Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zucchini Carrot Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Carrot Muffins

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2010

      My 1.5 yo daughter and I made these muffins. They are wonderful! I made only a half batch. I omitted the almonds and did equal parts carrot and zucchini. I decreased the oil by two tablespoons (remember I am making a half batch), and added 1 T almond butter and 1 T applesauce. I also decreased the sugar 1/2 cup instead of 3/4. Just to make give it a bit of extra nutrition power I added 3 T toasted wheat germ. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      These muffins are amazing! I realized after I made them that I forgot the coconut flakes, so I'm sure they'll be even more amazing the next time I make them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      I used half the carrots (I was a little short) & doubled the zucchini in its place; added 1 mashed banana I needed to use up & reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. I also shredded the apple, since I was already shredding everything :) I didn't have the nuts or the orange zest this time. This yielded 12 full muffins & 1 loaf pan. They were excellent, moist & a beautiful warm brown. This is a great way to sneak in some veggies! I'll be making these again, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I love this recipe! I also changed it a little as I wanted less fat and sugar. I also didn't use carrots because I had a glut of zucchinis from the garden, so just exchanged the carrots for those. <br/>Zucchini Carrot Muffins <br/>3 cup shredded zucchini <br/>1 cup chopped peeled apple <br/>3/4 cup flaked coconut <br/>2 teaspoons orange zest <br/>2 cups all-purpose flour <br/>1/4 cups sugar <br/>1 tablespoon ground cinnamon <br/>2 teaspoons baking soda <br/>1/2 teaspoon salt <br/>3 eggs, lightly beaten <br/>1/4 cup vegetable oil <br/>1/2 cup apple sauce <br/>1 teaspoon vanilla extract <br/>That is the recipe I used. By adding the 1/2 cup of apple sauce that made it sweet enough with out having to add extra sugar, and it eliminated 2/3s of the oil content. This made the fat content 5g and the sugars 5g as well. <br/>Thanks for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Awesome!! Love the texture and flavor. I used whole wheat flour. I also used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. So really I just made some little healthy substitutions and did not set out to alter the recipe LOL. Still turned out delicious even with these little modifications! I've made these several times and sometimes I don't have enough carrots, or enough apples, so I just kind of make up for it by adding extra of another fruit/veggie, just as long as I get to 4 cups. Also, I don't always have the coconut. They still always turn out awesome. A tablespoon of cinnamon really goes well with the apples, carrots, and zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      These were great! I added some flax seed meal, brewer's yeast and chia seeds to up the nutrition. I thought they were absolutely delicious and will definitely be making them again. I grated the apple in, since I had the grater out. There was a TON of vegetables/fruit to be mixed it. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Great concept. I changed a lot to make it low calorie, but this was a great diving board~ thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      These were fun to make with my 5 year old. The kids loved them and couldn't stop asking for more. Used pecans instead of almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Just made these with my 3 year old "helper" :) and they make the house smell so great! This seems to be a very nice and adaptable recipe, since many people have enjoyed them as posted, and I made a number of personal adjustments, and found them to be very nice and yummy! I can't wait to let the kids try them! For those who may be interested, I used 3/4 C whole wheat flour, 1/4 C spelt flour, 1/2 C almond flour, 1/2 C quinoa flakes 1/2 tsp Xantham Gum. I also added 2 Tbsp each of oat bran and ground flax. As well, I reduced the sugar to 1 C (2/3 brown, 1/3 white), and reduced the oil to 1/4 C with 1/2 C apple sauce. I'm not an orange fan, so I skipped the orange zest, and also forgot the chopped nuts (but I think they'd be really nice). I probably was generous in my measurements of the zucchini, carrots, and apple (as I just used the whole thing - 1 sm zucchinin, 2 med carrots, 1 med apple). All together this gave 2 dozen smallish muffins (only filled muffin papers about 3/4 full), plus 6 mini muffins. They were done in about 16 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      My 6-year-old son & I love these muffins! We each ate two as soon as they cooled. They are our new favorite. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This was so yummy! I made some for my parents as an impromptu gift in the mail -- they loved them! I used half brown sugar and half white sugar rather than just all white sugar. I also used walnuts in place of almonds. Such a yummy fall treat to make -- it's going in the books as a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Super moist. Changes I made based on what I had: 1/2 cup oil, 1/3 cup applesauce; walnuts instead of almonds; no coconut; 1 cup sugar.

      These are excellent, and are probably my favorite muffin now. Next time, I'll experiment with reducing the oil and sugar even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Fantastic muffins. They were sooooo moist. They melted in your mouth. My whole family really enjoyed them. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Amazing. I can't say I followed the recipe exactly...here's what I did: Used roughly 1 cup carrot, 1.5 cup zucchini and 1 cup chopped apple. Omitted orange zest. Reduced sugar down to a little less than 1 cup, reduced oil to 1/2 cup and added 1 individual portion unsweetened apple sauce (about 1/3 c?). Increased vanilla to 2 tsp. It was perfect, the kids loved them, they aren't too sweet but just sweet enough. The addition of the vanilla really adds to the "homemade" flavor. Used a regular size muffin tin and it made exactly 24 smallish muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Really good. I did what many reviewers did, and subbed what I had for this recipe; all zucchini, no almonds, and one small apple. Very moist and delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I loved these muffins. I used applesauce instead of apples because I didn't have any apples. I really liked the combination of healthy ingredients. I will definitely be making these muffins again and will be keeping this recipe to use up all my delicious zucchini from my garden. 10 stars!! Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Thanks to this awesome recipe I've been conning my kids into eating vegetables for the last 6 months now! Easy to substitute more or less of fruit and veg. so I use what I have around. Also use 1/4 sugar and 1 cup of Splenda because they are quite sweet otherwise! So moist, too. Sprinkle a little sugar/cinnamon on top for a crunch. My kids hate bananas so I'm glad to find a good alternative to them in a muffin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Sooo delicious and super-moist. My hubby and two boys (11 months and 3.5 years) loved them too. I subbed raisins as I had no almonds, used organic cane sugar, and non-iodized sea salt, but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. My one complaint: too sweet. It could have been because of the raisins, but even still, I'll cut back by 1/4 cup next time to see if that helps. I'm also going to split the flour half unbleached white and half whole wheat, as well as subbing mashed banana for some of the oil and sugar. I'll post after I give it a try. Thank you for the recipe, it's a no-fight way to give the kiddies some veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      I loved how this has a bit more than the normal, boring zucchini/carrot muffins. The coconut is a must! I didn't use apples, almonds, or orange zest. I used lemon zest instead and then drizzled a lemon glaze (1/2 cup powdered sugar mixed with 3 tsp lemon juice) on top of the muffins. Fantastic combination!! I'd love to try it with apples and almonds next time I have them on hand. I made them in both mini muffin and regular muffin tins. I baked the mini muffin tin with a shorter time, and I really liked the mini size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Very nice recipe! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Carrot Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.0
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    47%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 250.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites