9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We liked it, but felt that something was missing. I sprinkled cheese on them when they were done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joellen1972 August 18, 2011

Loved this...did not know that I liked zucchini so well!! Used italian seasoning as suggested by another reviewer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird August 04, 2009

Holy smokes! I wish I'd taken a picture. So good! Ok, added garlic salt, paprika and italian seasoning. I served them with Greek Tzaziki sauce and they were gobbled up by my family and the guests. The trick is to make them thin so the zucchini gets cooked all the way through and is not not mushy. Oh, one more note, I got a lot more water out after letting the zucchini sit after adding the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes July 29, 2009

So good... I have so much zucchini in my garden! I added a dash of italian seasoning and a dash of garlic powder. They were wonderful. My kids ate them up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pittgal August 08, 2008

Great with gravy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwinegar82 October 19, 2007

I am not rating this recipe, as I feel I must have done something wrong. I followed as instructed, but the end result was really not good. Perhaps the size of the zucchini grate was too large. I did fry the little cakes as long as the recipe says, but the texture of the final product was stringy and sort of gagged me. I love zucchini, so I was expecting a great side dish. Unfortunately, I ended up not eating these. Not sure what went wrong...flavors were fine, but I couldn't get past the texture of these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DogAndCatDoc August 04, 2006

Great way to use up all that zuucchini! I also make this with summer squash or combine both squashes with good results. Great summer side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bitsie July 14, 2004

My son and I are not fans of zucchini, but my neighbor grows it and gives it to me because my daughter and husband like it. Since I had it on hand, I searched for an easy recipe with ingredients already in the pantry. My son and I loved this dish (This is a great compliment, because he hates veggies)!! I still don't like zucchini, but will eat it as long as I use this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clueless in the Kitchen July 13, 2004

Wonderful!!! The only thing I changed was to add some garic powder to the mixture. I was craving zucchini cakes, so I splurged and paid a bit more because they are out of season, but it was SOOO worth it! Thanks for an excellent recipe that will definitely go into my favorites! ~Manda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda January 08, 2004
Zucchini cakes-my mom's recipe...wonderful summer side dish