12 Reviews

I admit I was skeptical at first. I LOVE them! Excellent side dish for the salmon that I served. I made my own bread crumbs by processing some high-fiber bread and tossing in some Italian Season.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie July 11, 2010

Loved them! They turned out perfect and I make extra to throw in the freezer to grab for lunch to take to work. Easy to make and didn't take that long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila B. September 29, 2014

I make these every summer now! They are great baked or grilled. They are quick, and you can make a bunch for later because they refrigerate beautifully. Some may have to be careful about too much Old Bay, but I'm from Maryland, so it's hard for me to over do it. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna Bittner-Borell November 12, 2008

This recipe is delicious! The cakes are even good cold. I used pattypan/cymling squash. After grating it I squeezed out a good quantity of liquid. I also added 1 extra tablespoon of mayo cause I had a little extra squash. I like the fact that they aren't fried! I'm going to make "crabcake" sandwiches in a few days! Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott September 19, 2007

On the plus side these are very healthy. Overall, though, I didn't really love them. I felt like they were a bit too seasoned and they tasted more like a stuffing pattie than a zucchini patti. The style of cooking (baking)is great and a real fat saver! Maybe just bump up the zucchini and bump down the bread crumbs?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender July 13, 2007

We enjoyed these very much. I cut back on the Old Bay based on a prior review. A great way to eat zucchini without frying it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing June 01, 2007

These were pretty good. The Old Bay taste was pretty strong, I don't think a whole tbsp is necessary. They did crisp up pretty well in the oven, and were a nice change for lunch. Made for ZWT 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 May 31, 2007

I took this idea, added small cut mushrooms to it. Always a good idea to bake than fry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Therese April 16, 2007

I made them to go with chicken sausages for dinner. They were good but I was a little disappointed that I couldn't taste the zucchini more. Next time, I will try making them with less breadcrumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay November 11, 2006

Very good. Great baked instead of frying also easy. I made the recipe as stated, but left out the Old Bay Seasoning as DH doesn't care for it. These are very good with shredded Parmesan cheese sprinkled on the top. Thank you for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz September 09, 2006
Zucchini Cakes