29 Reviews

I've made these before and the batter doesn't get as crumbly if you mix all the dry ingredients except the sugar in one bowl.. and then all the wet ingredients, zucchini, and sugar in another. Let the zucchini/wet ingredient/sugar mixture sit for a couple minutes, and it will get syrupy like when you add sugar to strawberries. THEN combine the two. :) Makes all the difference in the world! I also put vegan dark chocolate chips on top of mine :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazyspazmo October 20, 2010

Yummy....I served this to my boys and no one noticed. Very moist brownie. Thanks for a great recipe to use up those extra zucchini that are now overloading my garden.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff July 04, 2006

These are further proof that you don't need eggs for great baked goods. I was a little concerned about the crumbliness of the batter (more like cookie dough), but once the zucchini was mixed in, everything came together. I finely shredded my zucchini and drained it to take some of the moisture out. The brownies came out perfect and super tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
worldmom12 September 06, 2013

This recipe also lends well to subbing 1/2 whole wheat flour. If you aren't used to whole wheat in sweet baked goods, it DOES change the texture and taste. I've also added sprouted wheat berries to a similar recipe with fantastic results. As others have said, mix wet and dry separately. I also recommend adding a bit of applesauce for added chew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieBlank July 08, 2012

Great!! We absolutely loved these, and have made them many times now. The crust that develops on top, and the warm moist centre - to die for. These are great on their own or a la mode, soy for the vegans out there. UPDATE: These are best with slightly less sugar (1 1/4 cup), and if you follow krazyspazmo's suggestion of letting the zucchini, oil, sugar, and vanilla sit before combining them with the dry ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K October 16, 2011

These were ok - the taste was a little strange. My kids will probably eat them because we don't eat a lot of sweets. The "batter" was extremely crumbly and I almost added an egg just to bind it together. (I guess I should have read the reviews first!) I can safely say I won't make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie July 14, 2010

For what it is,low fat eggless it tastes ok. I found it dry, I did add the nuts to it. We did eat all of the pan so it rated a 4. Would I make it again, only if someone was coming over and I needed a recipe like this because of dietary need.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda May 11, 2010

Family, guests, and I have enjoyed this recipe over and over! I will soon be making this for my girls night, its my favorite brownie recipe now, thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakerbf820 November 03, 2009

These don't have the chewiness and richness of a brownie, but then again, they don't have the fat and calories, either! They deserve a good solid four stars for taste, but I give them five stars for being a healthier treat a good way to use up zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Podkayne August 12, 2009
Zucchini Brownies