8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a very easy recipe to do and i used cucumbers instead of zucchini but i am doing the zucchini next it is a great way to use up both the overload of of zucchini and cucumbers

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denise robertson August 20, 2002

These pickles are great! Thanks so much for a great recipe. A great way to use up extra zucchini. Am already planning a second batch. And for those who aren't zucchini eaters, they will love these pickles, as they don't taste like zucchini.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsmama August 19, 2002

These are terrific pickles. I also add mustard seeds to my recipe. My recipe is smaller, therefore, you might want to try adding 4 teaspoons of mustard seeds to this size recipe. People never know that they arn't cukes until you tell them and they still can't believe it! Great recipe! You might also want to try putting the sliced zucchini, onions, and salt in ice water for 2 hours, drain and then proceed with the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy-Jude August 23, 2002

Sue these were great!!! I actually got the zucchini from work and they were quite big, so I quartered then and sliced them up. They are still curing, but I snuck a taste when they were cookin and they're GRRREAT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie September 20, 2004

I made this recipe adding in some yellow squash. All the squashes were large, so I quartered them and ran them through the food processor. Followed another reviewer's recommendation to soak in salted ice water for 2 hours. I had some Penzey's shrimp boil seasoning that is very similar to pickling spices, and added in a generous amount while cooking. These pickles are so crispy and delicious, my hubby and I can't stop eating them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PM24 August 10, 2011

This recipe is wonderfully easy and the pickles are fantanstic!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne43 August 05, 2009

great recipe!!! I did it last year and doing it again this year!!! Cheaper using zucchini that cukes. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunriff_24 August 09, 2008

These are still curing but I tasted the leftovers. Incredible. I did add a tablespoon of pickling spice to this and a bit of garlic. One suggestion, it was hard for me to figure out how much zucchini to use to get the right amount of liquid, so maybe put how many 'cups' of zucchs in the body someplace? yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildheart July 15, 2007
Zucchini Bread and Butter Pickles