101 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I substituted the nuts for raisins, and added a teaspoon of nutmeg. Great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3mm64 September 05, 2006

This was excellent. I also made this with 1/2 cup oil and 2/3 cups homemade chunky applesauce to reduce the fat content. I used 1/2 cup Splenda and 1/2 cup sugar in mine and it came out just as moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liral July 17, 2005

I only planted four zucchini plants in my garden but I still have zucchini coming out of my ears so I was tried your recipe and was delighted that it was so good and moist! As some suggested I did increase the amount of the zucchini to 3 cups. I love nuts but left them out because my daughter doesn't like nuts in her bread but next time I make it I'm putting nuts in one of the loaves and keep the other loaf nut free for her. Thanks again for a great recipe. It's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaykwilts June 03, 2005

Awesome recipe. I actually make this in a 10" spring form pan to serve as a cake-like dessert. I did cut back the sugar to 1 1/4 cups the second time I made it but the first time I did it just as the recipe said. Its really good both ways.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h_metts February 18, 2005

I was looking for a recipe that resembled my mom's from childhood to send my sister in college - and this fit the bill! Great & Easy! I brushed the top with egg 10 minutes before the baking was finished to give a 'crunchier' crust - at least I think that's what I remember seeing my mom do ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 February 06, 2005

Great recipe! I don't care for nuts, so I left those out. I added a dash of fresh grated nutmeg, and dusted the top with sugar (as suggested by others). It was wonderful! The easiest way to remove the liquid from the zucchini is to place the shreds in a cloth napkin, roll it up, and wring it out. I also made this with yellow squash- very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kalivig July 29, 2004

Very tasty! I added a handful of raisins. I think the dusting of sugar before baking suggested by another reviewer would have been a good addition, also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bmat June 29, 2004

This was a really great recipe for Zucchini Bread, it tastes more like cake than like bread! In the future I will add a little more zucchini, but I will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fair weather cook August 14, 2002

Thanks for posting this recipe!! It came out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twomoonjct July 19, 2014

Excellent. Just made 4 loaves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the lumberyard lady July 14, 2013
Zucchini Bread