101 Reviews

An easy recipe to make that yields a great moist bread. The ultimate in comfort food. Yum!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elena Bedner January 02, 2002

This beautiful recipe yields a beautiful bounty of bread! I used jumbo muffin containers and, like most reviewers here, subbed half the oil with applesauce, used pumpkin pie spice, and cut the sugar a bit. They rose up nicely and smelled wonderful while baking. My youngest son refuses virtually all veggies, but he was hanging around the kitchen the whole time I made these--he couldn't wait to taste them. Thanks for a great post; I'll use it all summer until all the zucchini in my garden is gone! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamiller July 13, 2011

Well this was my first time ever making zucchini bread, and I made it with my first home grown zucchini, so I was really wanting it to turn out good. Your recipe did not disappoint, I think the suggestion of squeezing out the liquid may have made the recipe as I was really surprised at how much liquid came out. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup oil and it worked - the bread was tender and moist. I also reduced the sugar to one cup as I do not like real sweet stuff, and I thought it came out perfect. Thank you HappyBunny, this will be my go to recipe and I am sure I will be using it many more times, as I have tons of zucchini already.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Dayton August 08, 2010

This is my first review here and I've been a member for years, but this bread was so delicious that I had to share how much we loved this recipe. My 2yo dd just interrupted my review to ask for another piece! I used extra virgin coconut oil (melted) for the oil, whole wheat flour, 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar as I was almost out of white sugar. I sprinkled a pinch of white sugar across the top as other reviewers suggested. Also left out the nuts for my 2 yo. The crust was crisp and it was moist inside. It was finished to perfection in 45 mins. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melanie.l.browning May 27, 2010

Wow ! I just took this bread out of the oven , & I had a VERY hard time letting it cool. I did and boy was it well worth the wait. This is the BEST zucchini bread I have had...ever! Very moist and full of flavor, I did squeeze the zucchini in a tea towel to remove some of the liquid and it works wonderfully. The only thing I will try next time is cutting the oil by 1/2 and use unsweetened applesauce. Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerty-Goose December 13, 2009

My husband just can't get enough of this stuff. He's been eating it every day and get this he tops it with vanilla ice cream

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Ashford August 07, 2002

I love this recipe, it is one of my go to recipes. There's only one change that I make that I find lends to a moister and more flavorful bread. Instead of 1 cup oil, I use 1/2 cup applesauce w/ 1/2 cup crushed pineapple drained OR 1/4 cup oil w/ 3/4 cup crushed pineapple drained.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne V. May 06, 2012

I made muffins for this recipe,it made 16.I baked them for 20-25 minutes and they turned out beautifully!Like many others I made a few changes:half whole wheat flour & half all purpose,1/4 cup flaxseed,1/4 cup wheat germ,1/2 cup melted butter,1/2 cup oil,1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and just 1 1/4 cup sugar.They are very moist and you can even reduce the sugar to 1 cup and I think it would be plenty.Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny March 26, 2011

This recipe was easy to follow and turned out fantastic! Plenty moist and sweet. I may try and reduce the fat nex time by incorporating some unsweetened applesause and reducing the oil and/or reducing the sugar as suggested by Sandy in Dayton. I only had one loaf pan so I decided to use the remaining batter with my cupcake pan. I have already eaten 3 of the cupcakes!! Thanks for the great post HappyBunny.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cup of Jen August 26, 2010

This is a great zucchini bread! Everyone I served it to said it was fantastic. The only reason I am docking it one star is because it is really quite oily. While this does make it very moist, it also ups the fat content quite a bit and I wish it were a bit healthier. Next time I will try making it with 1/2 the oil and substitute applesauce for the other 1/2, as one reviewer suggested. Still, when you're craving an authentic zucchini bread, this definitely fits the bill. I'll be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eljays June 23, 2010
Zucchini Bread