341 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is so very much like my MIL's recipe that I posted here, but I love zucchini bread, so I simply had to try it. Friedel, this recipe is really delicious! I made it exactly like the directions called for and made two beautiful loaves. I did add chopped walnuts. This recipe calls for more sugar than my MIL's recipe and I did enjoy the added sweetness. Thanks for a wonderful treat!

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 24, 2002

I cannot believe that this is so easy to make. Talk about maximum flavour for minimum effort. A delicious moist bread. This has to be a budget stretcher to yield 2 loaves of bread. I love a recipe where you don't have to beat those eggs and that butter. Your directions were so easy to follow. My DS and DD didn't realise it was zucchini bread. Do you think I should tell them? Never!! What a lovely way to use zucchinis, especially those oversized zucchinis. I will definitely be making this recipe again and freezing some in slices for my family to take to work and school. Thank you Friedel for sharing your recipe with us.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo July 05, 2002

I'm always looking for a good zucchinni bread recipe! This one is moist, sweet, and delicious! I added 1 cup chopped walnuts and a pinch of allspice. It makes two great loaves! Nice to get the extra loaf for freezing. Cut's the work in half. We really liked this one, I will difinitely make this again! Thanks, Friedel!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz July 18, 2002

Much better recipe than the one I had. I added 1/2 tsp of allspice and nutmeg to make it spicer. Careful baking as the loaf falls easily. My first batch fell but surprisingly the bread was still delicious, and texture was still great.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Anthony June 17, 2002

WOW! I made this today on Zaar day and I feel it's delicious! Its nutritive too, isnt it, and it makes a great snack. I loved it. I did not use nuts in it this time. I'll be making this very often! Thanks so much for the amazing zucchini bread!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani February 10, 2002

I have never even tasted Zucchini Bread before, but I got a big bag full of zucchini at Kroger for only $0.90. So I came on the zaar looking at different zucchini recipes. I had always heard that zucchini bread was good so I saw this recipe and gave it a try. I thought it was pretty good. Eazy to make and not to sweet. I will make again some time. My kids liked it to.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim January 26, 2002

I have added dates to this recipe with the walnuts, very yummy, popular in our household. W@hen i have excess of zuchinnis in season I grate and freeze in 2 cup amounts, I can then have these recipes all year round. I drain the fluid or most of it out before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. These used insead of carrots make a lovely cake. Rosemary in New Zealand.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ropami June 29, 2002

I normally hate it when people make tons of substitutions and then rate a recipe poorly. But...since I have nothing but good things to say about this recipe, I'm going to review it!
I did make tons of substitutions, but only because we're currently on a health kick and I wanted to decrease the fat, decrease the sugar and increase the hippie-factor by adding things like wheat germ and flax.
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it can hold up to all sorts of substitutions! I reduced the oil by half, and swapped it for apple sauce. I reduced the sugar by half and swapped it for organic maple syrup. I added extra zucchini, flour (whole wheat) and an extra egg. I also added in wheat germ and ground flax. I used slivered almonds as my nut of choice.
Oh...and I realized half way through the preparation that I didn't have baking powder...
And guess what...still turned out amazing!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E-Eva August 22, 2010

Wonderful! I keep making more to give away but keep eating it all myself. Recipe is great just as written. No need to change anything.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atcdly July 25, 2002

Excellent recipe for Zucchine Bread. I picked some zucchine out of the garden this morning and prepared this recipe. I followed the recipe to the T, and it is indeed very moist. Will be fixing this a lot this summer and placing loaves in the freezer. If the garden runs true to form, will have a lot of loaves to give away!! Thank you Friedel, for this recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Souchef June 23, 2002
Zucchini Bread