11 Reviews

This recipe was a hit with the fam! Since a couple of the reviews mentioned that it might need a little more flavor, I adjusted the recipe as follows:<br/>1 tsp Tajin ( Mexican Seasoning)<br/>14 oz can diced tomatoes with jalapeño peppers (I drained the liquid from the tomatoes into a measuring cup and then added water to the 1/2 cup mark)<br/><br/>I served this over rice and sprinkled some Mexican Blend Shredded Cheese on each serving.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OddSpirit July 10, 2014

This was good but as others have mentioned, it's a little bland. I consider recipes to be a guideline; not necessarily written in stone, change it to your liking, everyone has different tastes guideline. So I added more, lots more garlic! Added more oregano, dash of dried basil and about 2 tsp of apple cider vinegar. I served this over brown rice. Everyone ate it and it was easy to throw together! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violetsareblue January 24, 2015

I have made this quite a few times now. Easy, fast and yummy. I usually make mashed potatoes or rice and serve it over that. A good weeknight meal. Could probably use a little more flavor, maybe some garlic?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
w_brock October 13, 2013

What a great base for a one dish meal. I was going to open a jar of home canned tomatoes and saw I had some no sugar added salsa so I just put that in, it is so tasty. Thanks for the idea, everything was in the fridge just begging to be in this dish and what a great way to clean out the fridge. Again thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar January 25, 2016

As a starter to build on your own tastes, this recipe is great. I read the reviews and added a multitude of spices, fresh garlic, and Worcestershire sauce to get a good flavor. I served with rice and it was delicious while still being on the healthy side. Next time, per personal preference, I will add the bell peppers much later as I like mine warm and still crunchy, not cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiLMissMuffet January 21, 2016

My partner and I are trying to eat better. I was scrolling online and found this recipe, needless to say this was quick, easy AND healthy. We improvised and used chicken instead! So delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaun F. July 10, 2015

Extremely versatile! Have made this as directed and as my family prefers it...as lettuce wraps!! We add a can of drained low sodium black beans and change out beef for soy chorizo. Top w/a Tbsp of Monterey Jack. Zesty Lemon Quinoa and Rice by West India is a fabulous side dish to this. As this makes A LOT of food, the next day, a soup is prepared w/leftovers by adding quinoa and reduced sodium stock. Too fun. Thank you for the post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW May 19, 2015

I put this on a baked potato and topped it with grated parmesan and a little shredded mozzarella!
Meat, veggies, a starch and some dairy...all in one.
Fantastic recipe....wonderful fresh taste....and filling to boot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiger Jeff January 17, 2013
Zucchini Beef Skillet