26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You wouldn't even know it is zucchini. Fooled my kids!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iced Mocha September 04, 2001

Love this recipe! This is the first thing that my kids tried with zucchini in it. They were hesitant at first but after that first bite, the rest was gone. Thanks for a great recipe!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen in SD July 18, 2002

Added 1/2 tsp. allspice and substituted applesauce for 1/2 the oil. Turned out fantastic.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessi-ryan September 15, 2002

Peggy Benisch: Super-Duper Zucchini Bars! They're really easy to mix and bake and the Cream Cheese Frosting is excellent on top! Kudos To You! Laudee C. Colorado

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee July 23, 2002

My grandma used to make these all the time! Her recipe varied slightly. She put in 2tsp cinnamon and 1/2 chopped walnuts in the batter. She did not put vanilla in the batter, just in the frosting. So yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1015092 August 07, 2009

Zucchini is overrunning my garden, so I came on here looking for some good recipes. Of course I had to add nuts because my kids love them in everything, and they were a hit for all of us! What a great way to use up some of the excess zucchini! I plan to make up a batch for my neighbor too. I'm sure they will be well received too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Angie** July 24, 2009

This is one of my husbands favorite desserts. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana K February 25, 2009

More like cake, than bars. But no complaints here. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie98 February 04, 2009

These bars were very good, and hti the spot for my sweet tooth! I used applesauce instead of oil, and only 2 cups powdered sugar and it was perfect. I cut them into 24 bars which brought the calories down to about 167 per bar. I did think the "cake" was a bit dense, so maybe I'll add a little extra applesauce next time. All in all, they were delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZ October 10, 2008

Thank you Peggy for this fabulous bar/cake. I have been using zucchini in recipes for years, and I believe this rates up there with the best of them. I used 2/3 c. olive oil and 1/3 c. applesauce for the oil. This was so good, it was gone in a single day!! Thanks again for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Colorado September 25, 2008
Zucchini Bars