27 Reviews

You wouldn't even know it is zucchini. Fooled my kids!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iced Mocha September 04, 2001

Love this recipe! This is the first thing that my kids tried with zucchini in it. They were hesitant at first but after that first bite, the rest was gone. Thanks for a great recipe!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen in SD July 18, 2002

Added 1/2 tsp. allspice and substituted applesauce for 1/2 the oil. Turned out fantastic.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessi-ryan September 15, 2002

Peggy Benisch: Super-Duper Zucchini Bars! They're really easy to mix and bake and the Cream Cheese Frosting is excellent on top! Kudos To You! Laudee C. Colorado

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee July 23, 2002

My grandma used to make these all the time! Her recipe varied slightly. She put in 2tsp cinnamon and 1/2 chopped walnuts in the batter. She did not put vanilla in the batter, just in the frosting. So yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1015092 August 07, 2009

These are very easy to make. I chose this recipe because I needed to use up some leftover cream cheese frosting and this is the only bar recipe I found with out add-ins like nuts, or dried fruit. The bars are moist and slightly green tinged. I am guessing by the previous comments that this used to call for a 10"x15" pan and at some point was changed to a 9"x13" pan. I went ahead and used the larger pan as I wanted a bar more than a cake; it took 25 minutes to cook. I was a little worried about overflow as there was less than a quarter inch from the batter to the top of my pan, but it just worked (see picture). The only ingredient change I made was to decrease the sugar from 2 cups to 1.75 cups. With the frosting, it is still sweet enough for my family. The only reason I reduced the rating to 4 stars was I felt the recipe needed some spice... something along the lines of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice... or some combination. It is just a tab bland as is, but the zucchini flavor itself is more evident this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth July 28, 2016

Zucchini is overrunning my garden, so I came on here looking for some good recipes. Of course I had to add nuts because my kids love them in everything, and they were a hit for all of us! What a great way to use up some of the excess zucchini! I plan to make up a batch for my neighbor too. I'm sure they will be well received too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Angie** July 24, 2009

This is one of my husbands favorite desserts. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana K February 25, 2009

More like cake, than bars. But no complaints here. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie98 February 04, 2009

These bars were very good, and hti the spot for my sweet tooth! I used applesauce instead of oil, and only 2 cups powdered sugar and it was perfect. I cut them into 24 bars which brought the calories down to about 167 per bar. I did think the "cake" was a bit dense, so maybe I'll add a little extra applesauce next time. All in all, they were delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZ October 10, 2008
Zucchini Bars