12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This made a very good side for our steak dinner. I also sauteed my onions a bit in the butter before adding to the bread cubes. Opted to add some minced garlic then and skip the garlic salt, added a little over half a teaspoon of salt instead. I had a nice loaf of French bread that I cubed. Flavor was wonderful, zucchini was done perfectly. My only complaint would be that the dish was a little oily. The kids ate some which is more than what they normally do when zucchini is on the table. Progress! I think I may have to play with this one again in the future with different cheeses and a little less butter. Thanks for sharing Kim! Made for BEV Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph July 20, 2008

I have lots of zucchini, so I doubled this. Glad I did! It's a delicious way to use zucchini. The veggies aren't mushy or over-sauced. I made this as written, but stirred half of the cheese right into the casserole. This is a great way to introduce little ones to zucchini. Thanx for sharing this; it's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 08, 2007

This was a nice way to use my 1 zucchini. I halved the recipe and it turned out so nice! Thank you for posting! I did cut the baking time just a little since I halved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 13, 2003

Very good, we enjoyed this very much. Easy to prepare and full of veggie goodness, this was enjoyed by us all. I did give the zucchini and the onion 5 minutes in the microwave to soften them up a little, after which they were cooked to perfection in the oven. Good flavour, I will make this again, thanks, Kim! Made for Lucky 13 Vegetarian Swap

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth August 11, 2009

WOW - this was great! I made the recipe exactly as written and poured it into a 9x13 pan, but thought it was a little "skimpy" so I made another batch and added it to the same pan. Turned out great. Will definitely make again - in fact I'm going to make it tonight. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenjill September 15, 2004

We liked this cheesy custard type vegetable dish, the bread gave it a nice crunch too. Next time I might add a few mushrooms, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 27, 2003

Delish and easy to make and ..... a made good use of way too much zucchini. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby August 03, 2009

Very good -- think next time will saute onion first as others have suggested, and might cut the recipe in half. Made a good side and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe August 19, 2008

Any recipe that starts off with butter and bread you got me with "Hello!" I loved this, as I have never, never made zucchini like this before. I made the whole recipe, and since I was cooking onions anyway, I just softened the onions in the butter first, just to translucent, added garlic, whipped up that garlic aroma, threw zucchini in quickly, and poured this whole wonderful zucchini specialness on top of the bread cubes. I added a 2 tablespoons of egg substitue at the last minute with cheese stirred like mad, and threw that baby into my little oven. I kept trying it to test, another test, another test, ummmmmm....beYOnD tasty. *Football Game week three*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm September 26, 2007

This is a variation of our favorite zucchini dish. I steam the zucchini and onion first -- 'til JUST done. Then I put prepared croutons or stuffing mix into the serving bowl, then steamed veggies, top with cheese, cover loosely with foil (Pam sprayed on under side), and put in oven for 5-10 minutes, just long enough to melt the cheese. Easy to do when you already have something in the oven -- or even after the oven is just turned off. I usually don't add the egg, but if so, add to hot veggies and warm a few minutes longer. Tasty !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney July 09, 2007
Zucchini and Cheese Casserole