27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this recipe a month ago and I've made it 3 times already. The taste is amazing. Last time I cut up chicken tenderloins and sauteed them with the onions. I served it over wild rice. It can be a great side dish, but with some small additions it's dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b eddie November 06, 2010

This was a underestimated recipe. Somehow this was a super power punched flavor blast. All the flavors came together and sprung out and sang to us. I can not wait to make this again. I followed the recipe: EXCEPT: No shrooms. Added cut up green pepper. The tomatoes went in the same time as the other veggies. Kinda of broke down but no regrets. What was the awesome flavor: I think the broth as we ll as garlic. Don't care but this is a keeper recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewEnglandCook March 16, 2010

I love this recipe. My husband doesn't like onion so I make it without and we both love it. It was just the ticket this summer when I had a lot of garden tomatoes and zucchini. I serve over potatoes or rice because there is a lot of broth left over when the zucchini is done.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kwkokana October 19, 2009

I've made this a couple of times & I love the flavour of this dish, although I have altered the amounts of a few things. I use only 1/2 onion, 1 zucchini, & I completely omit the chicken broth, instead using 1 tsp. chicken OXO powder. I also leave out the salt. And it's absolutely fabulous with fresh mushrooms instead of canned ones. This will be making a regular appearance on my dinner table.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mintara January 27, 2010

Good recipe, but needed more spices for flavor. i also ended up with lots of liquid in the bottom from the broth and zucchini, but i drained some of it out and will use it as a soup base.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blossom in Seattle August 27, 2009

Great tasting dish for what someone else described as a bland vegetable. When my freezer was stocked with zucchini bread and zucchini muffins, and the summer squash were still piling up, I found this recipe and now it's one of our favorites. It makes a lot, but my 12-year old son even heats it up for lunch the next day! I've made it with just zucchini, and also with a variety of summer squashes. We have a mixed-opinion family regarding tomatoes, so I've made it with and without and like it equally; have also added shredded pecorino romano. No need to add other seasoning and the garlic, onion and chicken broth are a fantastic combo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momtess November 06, 2006

Good combination of healthy ingredients but kind of bland when it all comes together. If I try this again I think I will saute the onions and use fresh mushroom in some sherry. Would be a good filling for a casserole too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn2701 October 31, 2010

Very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe except I didn't add the mushrooms, used 1 tsp of minced garlic, and didn't add the salt or tomatoes. We all really enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 12, 2010

I probably killed the healthy part to this but I added some seasoned salt and some parmisian cheese (sp) and this was super awesome...The recipe was really good, just needed to spice it up a tad. Thanks Tom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy M. From Indiana July 06, 2009
Zucchini