Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ziti Al Forno (From the Sopranos Family Cookbook) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ziti Al Forno (From the Sopranos Family Cookbook)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2008

      This is our family's recipe for baked ziti, too. Sometimes I also add spinach in with the cheeses, especially if I happen to have some leftover creamed spinach. I always use more sauce than the recipe calls for, it seems the pasta eats it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Creamy and delicious. I made with my homemade sauce: Italian Meat Sauce for Pasta or Lasagna which is a meat sauce so omitted the meatballs. I had to guess at the cooking temperature, I cooked at 375 degrees for one hour then uncovered for 15 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      This was delicious! I quartered the recipe (no difficulties encountered) since only 2 were dining! I wish that I could follow the recipe EXACTLY but I have to watch my colesterol - I used my own plain tomato pasta sauce, my own meatballs (made without eggs), light ricotta, low fat mozarella & shredded parmesan on top. Thanx Bri!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      I made this usuing Bri's Sunday gravy recipe with the meatballs and it was wonderful. I entertained with this (at Bri's request) and it got rave reviews from everyone. Wonderful weekend meal to sit down and share with friends. Give it a try! It makes a lot - there was 4 adults, 3 mid-sized kids and we had 1/2 a dish left - this will feed a crowd!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Very good. I will be making this for the girls slumber party is a couple weeks. I makes a nice large casserole and everyone loves it. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I made this with the Sunday sauce and meatballs. My family LOVED it! I was surprised at how easy it was to make my own sauce....Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This was really good! I made it with my Kellymac's Marinara Sauce, #413262 and served with the meatballs on the side because I forgot to add them in! It was very good and I would make it again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I've had the Soprano's Cookbook for years now- I love it! This recipe is fantastic! And it makes really good leftovers too (if you have any!). If you can get ahold of the book or the recipe from it, try their pizza. It is SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      We made this using canned spaghetti sauce. We are trying to play it cheap and quick. Thanks for a winner! We will be using this recipe alot. This recipe is very good and very easy. I might cut back on the ricotta next time and add in some veggies. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I had left over Sunday Gravy in the freezer and decided this would be a perfect recipe to use it up. This is quite yummy -- the only thing I might do a bit different is add MORE sauce :) This Italian girl loves pasta drowning in sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I have the Sporanos Family Cookbook as well and made this for the series finale. The Sunday Gravy was very hearty, a little heavier than we are used to. I made my own [recipe=128840]TWA Meatballs[/recipe]. Was very good and when I make again, will use my own sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      We thought this was an excellent ziti! I think the recipe needs clarification - the recipe doesn't state how much sauce to use, how many meatballs, or what baking temperature. Regardless ours turned out fantastic! I boiled the pasta to 1 minute under al-dente so it didn't turn to mush while baking. I used store bought Prego sauce (2 regular sized jars) and a pack of 32 frozen meatballs (pressed for time!). I also used cottage cheese and parmigaino-reggiano in the dish. I baked at 350 degrees and it came out wonderful! Will even be more delicious with homemade sauce and meatballs. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Easy to make and everyone loved it. I don't usually change or alter recipes but I didn't have time to make the Sunday gravy, so I used (gulp) some of the sauce in a jar (please forgive me). By special request I also used sweet Italian sausage instead of meatballs. It came out great despite the alterations, though it's probably even better when the recipe is followed. Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Superb! DH wanted to go to Olive Garden for Father's Day. Unfortunately are son wasn't in the mood to cooperate with going out to dinner. We decided to stay in and I made this for him. Since it was late, I cheated and used jar sauce. He LOVED it! He said it was just like Olive Garden's! Thanks for a simple recipe. I can't wait to try it with homemade sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      Wow. Made this with Mean Chef's Nirvana Italian Gravy #28725. Thought I'd died and gone to heaven. I skipped the ricotta in an effort to cut back on the calories. Didn't miss it a bit. All the flavor and satisfaction of lasagne without all the work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Very good. Especially the meatballs. Kids and hubby loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This was good stuff! It was easy and yummy. My kids ate up the meatballs! I'm sure it's much better with Bri's Sunday Gravy and meatballs, but I needed to keep it simple, so I used frozen meatballs, and jar sauce. Even with that, it was still great! I don't think you can mess this one up! It’s definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      I too have been making this dish for a long time. I just call it baked pasta. It's an easy dish to throw together and I often times give it to a friend in a casserole dish when they have a baby, sickness, or even a death in the family. It's always well received. Only thing I do different is that I usually don't serve it with meatballs. I make a meat sauce and the ground meat is throughout the dish. Thanks for posting this - I hope many others try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      I have been making this ziti for ages...way before the cookbook came out! I got the recipe when I lived in the italian section of South Philadelphia several years ago. I mix the cheeses together and add two eggs to the mixture. This is great for pot lucks or when you want something to make in a hurry. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Delicious! I had to cook this for a party of 30 and was uneasy having not tried this recipe ahead of time. But it turned out great and I'll definitely be keeping this one in my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ziti Al Forno (From the Sopranos Family Cookbook)

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.7
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    32%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 167.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites