Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zippity Dooo Daaaa Orzo Salad! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zippity Dooo Daaaa Orzo Salad!

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2010

      This was really good! While the pasta was boiling, I made the dressing. When it was done, I poured the pasta right in so that it could absorb all the flavors and I could adjust the seasonings if necessary. While that was chilling, I prepared the veg so they were ready to be added when the orzo was cold. Very nice, light side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Very good salad, I used lemon zest instead of lime and left out olives. It was a wonderful light salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This was a lovely salad and a change from the usual macaroni salad. I did use the olive oil and regretted it as it left a kind of aftertaste and the salad would have been much nicer with a light vegetable oil. I also scaled back the dressing ingredients by about a third and found it was just right. Finally I used dried basil and oregano but in much smaller quantities and omitted the red onion entirely. It was better the next day and I would recommend making it the night before a party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      Quick and easy followed recipe exactly! Took to a family pool party - everyone raved how much they enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      What a great salad. I liked the tart lime in this with the orzo. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Our family loved this tasty, healthy salad. My only tip would be to watch the added salt. By the time you get the feta, capers, and olives, in the salad, you really don't want to oversalt this dish. Even better the 2nd day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Made half a recipe as DH loves orzo. We loved this one and will have it many times again.
      Served with Mediterranean Chicken breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      VERY good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I had just made what I thought was the most amazing orzo salad from one of my Cooking Light cookbooks the week before I tried this orzo salad. This one topped the other orzo salad, becoming my staple! I'm making it this weekend for a big BBQ and know it will be a HIT. It is SO delicious, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I used goat cheese instead of feta, since I didn't have any feta around. It made for a creamy base. The mustard and capers make a tangy dish. My mom LOVED it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Very Yummy. We had plenty left over so I took it into the daycare where I work for the kids and even they devoured it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This was really good, I made the morning of for a picnic and it kept well and tasted great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This was fabulous! My whole family devoured this. The best receipe I've had for orzo with fresh vegetables and herbs. It takes some time to cut everything up, but it's well worth it! My Italian husband, 10-year-old, and 6-year-old ate the whole thing for dinner and begged me to make more! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This is a fabulous, mediterranean tasting salad and my new favorite pasta salad!!! I made exactly as the directed, but using canned petite diced tomatoes. So often grocery store tomatoes lack flavor. I could not resist having some right away, and imagine even how much better this will be after it sets a while. This is definitely a keeper in my cookbook! :D Believe it or not, my 10 year old son loves it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I made this for our "Kab-arbecue" (Kabob+BBQ) yesterday, and made one substitution: One of our guests has Celiac disease and requires a gluten-free diet. Of course, Orzo pasta isn't that. So I used Brown Rice Rotini Pasta from Trader Joe's, and it was WONDERFUL! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      This was great! Easy to make and very tastey. I didn't know what lime zest was, so I used 1/4 cup of lime juice instead of lemon juice, and I squeezed in 1 fresh lime. Great for large group parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      WOW! Incredible salad! I made this last week, and I agree with other posters, the flavor improves over time. I used only 1/4c. of olive oil and omitted the capers. Instead of Dijon mustard I used a Jalapeño mustard and pressed the garlic. This is such a versatile salad with many combos for many different tastes. Thank you so much for posting. I'll be making this again....and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I made this recipe to take to a goodbye-retirement party at work. It was delicious and folks enjoyed it. I followed the directions exactly and it did take a while to get everything cut up. This makes a TON of salad, way more than 8 servings (as a side). It was better the day it was made than the next day... the feta seemed to get stronger in flavor to me. I did enjoy the dressing and will use that with other combinations of pasta and veggies this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Very good! I didn't have the right kind of olive oil OR fresh basil OR dijon mustard and it STILL came out great! I can't wait to try it as written. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      I thought it was o.k., but everybody else loved it and wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe closely

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zippity Dooo Daaaa Orzo Salad!

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.1
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    44%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 26.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 575.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites