Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ziploc Bag Omelet (Eggs in a Hurry) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ziploc Bag Omelet (Eggs in a Hurry)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2009

      Works great! I need to remember to use this when we have company. I'm a little leary about boiling plastic for 15 minutes though. I know it doesn't melt, but the latest "chemicals leaching out of plastic and into foods when heated" scare makes me a little hesitant to do this again. I can't find anything conclusive on this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      We have made this recipe for years. First time was on a Good Sam campout. The only difference we make is we add cooked; bacon, sausage or any other cooked meat to the eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      This makes great omlettes. We make these while camping. It's great because it makes no mess and there are NO DISHES! We usually add cooked sausage, ham or bacon along with mushrooms, jalapenos and various other fixin's! When we have more than one in the pot, we clip all the bags together with a clothes pin so keep the bags from touching the side of the pot and melting a hole into the bag. We have even used this method to heat up individual servings of lasagna or enchiladas while camping as well! It's a great versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Polyphenols are naturally occurring anti-oxidants typically found in all plants and are generally regarded as extremely healthful and thought to decrease the risk of many cancers. There are virtually NO polyphenols present in polyethylene bags.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Made this when we had lots of company staying overnight. Set up the ingrediants and differant mixings in a brunch style and everyone mixed their own. The kids specially loved it and clean up was a breeze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      This is such a great recipe! Everyone in my family likes different fixin's in there omelet, so this is really great! Also we can throw all the bags in a big pot of water and we eat at the same time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      great recipe, my dad has this every morning, although he likes his with 1 tbsp of milk thanks for posting Miss Pixie x x x :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Just make sure to squeeze as much air out of the baggie as possible before cooking (will go a long way to prevent leaks and/or eruptions), and no more than four at a time in the pot (to maintain temperature).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      According to Johnson which owns Ziplock they do not recommend it. Ziplock bags are safe to about 198 degrees and water boils at 212 so that means the molecules in the plastic are breaking down and entering the food you are eating. Even if you did not see the plastic melt yourself. But if you do not mind a little cancer exposure with your breakfast go for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Be careful about the ziplock bags since they're not really meant to boil and may cause toxins. See: http://camping.about.com/od/campingrecipes/a/ziplocbaggies.htm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ziploc Bag Omelet (Eggs in a Hurry)

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.2
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    61%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 389.8 mg
    129%
    Sodium 411.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    diced tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites