Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zigni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zigni

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2011

      Wow! My husband and I both love hot food, but this was so hot that I could only eat a few bites...haha! My husband loved it, but even he had to add some yogurt to it to cool it down. We made it exactly as directed, except I didn't have any fenugreek. The flavors were good and I will probably make again but with a little less cayenne (probably 3-4 tbsp next time). I served mine over cooked millet and the husband ate it on a pita bread (we didn't have any injera around).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I made a quick version of this. Canned tomatoes with chiles, garlic and ginger paste, and berbere I bought from a fantastic little Ethiopian restaurant. Very tasty over basmati.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      YUM! My mom always made this dish at home (Yemen) and so was overjoyed to find the ingredients for the berbere pepper. We always had this dish with chicken and with some boiled eggs thrown in and so I made this with one whole chicken and 3 boiled eggs added in at the end. Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      First time making anything Ethiopian. Also first time with fenugreek & cardamom. Both dh & I liked this. I admit, I was timid & only used 2 tablespoons cayenne. Should have used more. So a few days later, I added more cayenne to the rest of the berbere pepper mix and put it on some chicken I was grilling. We both liked it a lot. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I'm going to keep the berbere on-hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Delicious! By mistake had to use ground beef instead but it worked. I'll definitely use this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Wow!! What complex flavours are happening here! I left this to simmer for an hour and served with Ugali (Ugali). A highly satisfying meal. I prepared the berbere pepper according to the recipe except for cutting the cayenne down to 3 tbsp. I'm happy with the results - used the amount called for and found the dish to be just at the edge where I like spiciness, but it was too much for DH who isn't into spicy the way I am. Thanks for posting this great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      This recipe is awesome! Very easy to make and very tender and flavorful. It is certainly spicy, but if you like a lot of complex flavors, you'll love this one. I would definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      Hrm, the spicyness was a little high for everyone and I reduced it to only 3 tsp too. SInce I love spicy food, I thought it was great and I will make it again sometime. I couldn't find any fenugreek and I ran out of cloves, but it still came out pretty good I thought. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      This was very good! I used some niter kebbeh instead of the vegetable oil and I had my own berbere on hand which I used. It thickens up quite nicely and works well with injera. I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zigni

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 531.2
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    44%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 145.4 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2763.5 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 54.6 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites