Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zesty Salsa for Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zesty Salsa for Canning

    Average Rating:

    91 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 91

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2008

      This is a great salsa. My family loved it! We keep wanting to eat it out of the jar with a spoon. I did cut down the hot peppers to about half, as we like it mild, and it was perfect. I removed the skin from my tomatoes and drained them before measuring so it would not be too soupy. I doubled the recipe and actually ended up with 16 1/2 pints. My husband said we can't give any away! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I made this recipe for my first canning experience and was pleased with the result. Peeled the tomatoes and used my food chopper to get everything to the same size. Made one batch with the tomato paste (sweeter flavor) and one without and liked both. Great recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      A very nice, hearty salsa! I made it yesterday with fresh tomatoes and peppers from my garden. I left some of the seeds in with the jalapenos....end product is what I would call a 'medium-hot' salsa. I cut the recipe down by one third in order to make 8 half-pint jars....followed the amended measurments very closely but still ended up with an extra pint! Didn't bother to process the extra, just started to enjoy it. I was pleasantly surprised that the vinegar did not seem to add too much vinegar 'zing' to it. Perhaps using the cider vinegar rather than just white vinegar helped......My jars look beautiful and I look forward to enjoying it in the cold winter months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Delicious! My first salsa canning experience, and everyone loves it! Just a warning; I went with just 4 jalapenos to keep it mild (instead of the 2 1/2 cups of hot peppers), and it was so hot it was inedible! I doubled the batch and mixed in the way-too-hot stuff with it, and now it's fine, but just go WAY light on the hot peppers unless you like to feel the burn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I have made myself absolutely sick on this stuff! I can't seem to quit eating it! I don't know why I bothered canning, it is flying off the shelves. I am a novice when it comes to canning, and this recipe was so easy to follow. I used fresh homegrown roma tomatoes, onions, jalapenos, and green peppers. Only the garlic, paste and cilantro were store-bought. I did peel the tomatoes before I added them to the mix, and I doubled up on the garlic and cilantro (just cuz I love em), DELICIOUS!! I am going to can some more this weekend, and now that I got my belly full, maybe it will stay on the shelves a little longer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I have made two batches of this and it is the best! I used about 7 lbs of roma tomatos, one red and one white onion, about 5 red bell peppers, cilantro paste, a variety of hot peppers (Costco sells them by the bag which makes two batches)AND added a bag of frozen corn and a can of black beans. I only simmer it a short time to keep it chunky. Makes 7 pints. Love it, love it, love it! Summer in a jar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I wanted a good salsa to can and boy oh boy this is a great one.. I canned two batches one sweet and one zesty one.. Everyone loves it too.. Note: If you don't want a sweet salsa,you need to use ripe not overripe tomatoes the longer the tomatoes ripen the sweeter they get.. A+++++ Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Very delicious. My husband says this is addicting. He is now using this as a taco sauce as well. It is also good to use in making cheese dip. We have made several batches of this now. Its definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      decent recipe, not enough cilantro, seeding the hot peppers lost all the heat (most of the heat is in the seeds) and amount of bell peppers added a sweetness---so turned out VERY mild and slightly sweet---not my thing, but it was great in chili (replaced one jar of diced tomatoes with a jar of salsa---excellant!!!). I much preferred a salsa recipe on here called bottled salsa I think using fresh lime juice and no vinegar...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I've made three batches of this now and it's awesome every time. I've gotten a few friends hooked on it already. I only use 3/4 c. of jalapenos as we like our salsa milder. I also added some cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I have been looking for the perfect salsa recipe & this is it! I think its the tomato paste that does the trick. I peeled & seeded the tomatoes & followed the recipe exactly except that I decreased the hot peppers to 1 1/2 cups & added an extra cup of green peppers to keep the acid/low acid proportions the same. I had lots of roma tomatoes, peppers & onions so I kept slicing & dicing & multiplying & ended up with about 50 pints! This is the only salsa recipe I will ever use. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Wonderful, I made a batch of this with my own garden tomatoes and peppers. I added 2 cans of rinsed black beans and half a bag of frozen extra sweet corn. The gang at work has offered to BUY jars of this fabulous stuff. Totally Perfect Salsa! Thanks SO much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      It was very good, but I found that the cider vinegar made it a little sweet. Maybe I didn't add enough jalapenos to balance it out. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Very nice salsa. I added more cilantro and a tsp of cumin. It came out thick and luscious. Next time I make it I'll peel the tomatoes. I did core and seed them however so I didn't have water to cook down. It was so thick and chunky. Thanks Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This is great ... the 2.5 cups of hot peppers was indeed 'zesty'! I think that will be my 'hot' version and I'll tone it down a bit for a milder version, maybe to a cup or so or a milder pepper. But the recipe is FABULOUS and so easily adjustable. It's perfect! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Delicious! My first time cannng & it was a success. I got 9 pints. I didn't measure ingredients too precisely I guess. I used my Vidalia Chop wizard for all the chopping except the garlic & cilantro. I was done chopping in less than 20 mins. I did use 5 cloves of garlic & double cilantro. It was so good. I am going to make more mild for the kids. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I made this recipe last week, but added a combination of red, green and yellow bell peppers for variety and color. I took a pint to a cookout later in the day, and it disappeared quickly. Even those who do not normally eat salsa raved about it......I will be making more this weekend so I can have them on hand for holiday gift giving.....love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was delecious. My little girl has a Garlic allergy so I have to make most everything from scratch so I had to leave out the garlic and i barely put any vinegar. It was still delicious. Thanks so much for this wonderful addition. I can use this for alot of my cooking for flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      I just made this today and got 7 pint jars and a small bowl left over. It was great even though I messed up it still tastes great. I accidently added 1 1/2 cups of cider vinegar instead of 1 1/4c. It still tastes great. Thanks for a great recipe. I'm going to make more but doing it right this time. I did only add 5 jalepeno peppers, I'm a whimp. I did add more cilantro though I love the flavor. I will add a few more jalepeno's next time for a little more zest. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      This really is the best salsa ever!!! It is so flavourful. I like my salsa mild so I used 2 hot yellow peppers and 3 Jalapeno peppers and it was perfect for me. You could "taste" the peppers without having a burning mouth. I hope to pass the recipe on for generations.....It really is the best! This recipe gave me 11 - 250 ml (1 cup) jars. This won't last!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zesty Salsa for Canning

    Serving Size: 1 (4219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.3
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    63%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1419.7 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 23.4 g
    93%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes