220 Reviews

Have made several times now, the only thing I've done differently is put them under the broiler for about 5-10 minutes to get them really crispy.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinOHNCTXUK September 10, 2010

This was a hit tonight! I peeled and cut taters, combined spices in a ziploc bag and added taters to shake. Placed the taters on a pre-heated baking stone and drizzled the olive oil on top of the fries and baked for 30 minutes. I thought the seasoning may be too much for my picky 10 y/o who hates "spicy" things but he liked the fries. Served aside of a triple decker BLT club and dill pickle slice. Thanks for posting!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook September 04, 2010

We loved these! After I cut the potatoes I put them in a bowl of cold water and let them soak for an hour, then I carefully took them out not to disturb the starchy residue at the bottom of the bowl, dried them a bit on paper towels I was using more potatoes and didn't want them to stick together which can happen if the starch is on them. Then I followed the recipe using peanut oil because of the high temp. My kids thought they were great.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don't Call Me Martha October 22, 2011

These are a huge hit. They can be crispy or a little soft depending on the cook time and thickness of the cut. The flavor is spectacular. I suggest using olive oil rather than other ones and not peeling the potatoes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joantski January 11, 2004

UPDATE: I made this again, but instead of spraying the nonstick spray on the pan I used parchment paper. This helped crisp the fries better and they didn't stick to the pan the way they did even when using nonstick spray!

YUM! These were super terrific! I will be making these again! Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zach's Mom 2000 March 30, 2012

I've made these fries twice now and forgot to review the first time. I put all of the spices in a big ziploc bag and shake the fries that way-then pour the oil in the bag and "squeeze" gently until coated. Another reviewer insisted that the baking time was too long, but it seemed about right to me. Maybe it depends on thickness of your fries and the 'personality' of your oven. I used a french fry cutter and baked for 30 minutes. Just have to keep an eye on them. One more thing...I also did the LIGHTEST dusting of cayenne pepper over my fries before baking because I like alot of zest on my fries! Thanks for an outstanding recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo August 22, 2007

Very flavorful. Great blend of spices. Healthy and easy to make. I sliced my potatoes into fairly thin strips, so I cooked them only about 25 minutes and they were perfectly lightly browned and gently crisped. Great alongside our veggie burger lunch. I will make these again!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenmyoung August 20, 2011

We really loved these. But next time I will use the non-stick aluminum foil. Also I will broil them near the end because they turned out to be just a touch soggy. But I will be making them again, and I can't wait!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets April 19, 2013

These are soo tasty and so easy! Thanks for sharing this. My husband says he now has a favorite fry. I am a mother of 5 and everyone of my kids loved them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnavef January 30, 2012

The seasonings are spot on! I cut my potatoes like I'd normally cut fries, and for the time specified, it was too much. I ended up with some potato chips! But that being said, the flavor is great, and through trial and error, I'll find the right slice, temp, and time combo. I used olive oil instead of regular oil. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 12, 2011
Zesty Oven Baked Fries