Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zesty Oven Baked Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zesty Oven Baked Fries

    Average Rating:

    219 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 219

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2010

      Have made several times now, the only thing I've done differently is put them under the broiler for about 5-10 minutes to get them really crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      This was a hit tonight! I peeled and cut taters, combined spices in a ziploc bag and added taters to shake. Placed the taters on a pre-heated baking stone and drizzled the olive oil on top of the fries and baked for 30 minutes. I thought the seasoning may be too much for my picky 10 y/o who hates "spicy" things but he liked the fries. Served aside of a triple decker BLT club and dill pickle slice. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      We loved these! After I cut the potatoes I put them in a bowl of cold water and let them soak for an hour, then I carefully took them out not to disturb the starchy residue at the bottom of the bowl, dried them a bit on paper towels I was using more potatoes and didn't want them to stick together which can happen if the starch is on them. Then I followed the recipe using peanut oil because of the high temp. My kids thought they were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      These are a huge hit. They can be crispy or a little soft depending on the cook time and thickness of the cut. The flavor is spectacular. I suggest using olive oil rather than other ones and not peeling the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I've made these fries twice now and forgot to review the first time. I put all of the spices in a big ziploc bag and shake the fries that way-then pour the oil in the bag and "squeeze" gently until coated. Another reviewer insisted that the baking time was too long, but it seemed about right to me. Maybe it depends on thickness of your fries and the 'personality' of your oven. I used a french fry cutter and baked for 30 minutes. Just have to keep an eye on them. One more thing...I also did the LIGHTEST dusting of cayenne pepper over my fries before baking because I like alot of zest on my fries! Thanks for an outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      We really loved these. But next time I will use the non-stick aluminum foil. Also I will broil them near the end because they turned out to be just a touch soggy. But I will be making them again, and I can't wait!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      UPDATE: I made this again, but instead of spraying the nonstick spray on the pan I used parchment paper. This helped crisp the fries better and they didn't stick to the pan the way they did even when using nonstick spray!

      YUM! These were super terrific! I will be making these again! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      These are soo tasty and so easy! Thanks for sharing this. My husband says he now has a favorite fry. I am a mother of 5 and everyone of my kids loved them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      The seasonings are spot on! I cut my potatoes like I'd normally cut fries, and for the time specified, it was too much. I ended up with some potato chips! But that being said, the flavor is great, and through trial and error, I'll find the right slice, temp, and time combo. I used olive oil instead of regular oil. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Very flavorful. Great blend of spices. Healthy and easy to make. I sliced my potatoes into fairly thin strips, so I cooked them only about 25 minutes and they were perfectly lightly browned and gently crisped. Great alongside our veggie burger lunch. I will make these again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      These are excellent! I made just as stated only I had to triple the recipe for my family. They turned out deliciously crispy and flavorful. A definite keeper for us! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Excellent!!! These were really good and so easy. My kids tore them up and were begging for me to make them again tomorrow. ;-) thank you so much. This is a keeper and will probably be a weekly favorite from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Really good....did not have to change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Thunbs up - very tasty. Will make again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      These potatoes were an instant hit in our family! The kids think they're getting a treat, and I have a simple, popular side dish to serve. Win-win! I like the recipe so much, I'm planning on making a bulk batch of seasoning. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These were a great part of our "finger food dinner". We added a little more Parmesan cheese to the mixture, and tossed the potatoes in the oil first, then the mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I made 2 separate batches. It is important to put the spices on before the oil. Nice combination of spices, but I didn't end up with the best texture. They seemed overcooked inside, while getting tough instead of crispy on the outside. Maybe it's my old, finicky oven that didn't have the right temp, who knows.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Great recipe, yummy fries! I did cut the heat back to 425F due to other dishes I was cooking at the same time. Everyone loved them. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      We thought these were wonderful. I've made them 3 times in 2 weeks and they are now my go to 'fries'. The timing worked out quite close - it may have been an additional 5 minutes but it is easy to time the rest of the meal around them. Thanks so much for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      Fantastic!! Easy and delicious! Went well with our grilled burgers tonight. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zesty Oven Baked Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    34%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 335.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites