Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Zesty Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zesty Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2003

      One of the best soups we've ever had - creamy, zesty, and totally memorable. Did I mention easy, too? I made this exactly as written and only wish I'd doubled the recipe as we slurped this up PDQ! The spice was great, the mushroom flavor was pronounced, and actually, a little does go a long way, as this is a rich, delicious, superb soup. Thanks for a winner, Michelle! Lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      Excellent! A quick, easy to make creamy mushroom soup accented with tarragon, cayenne pepper and white wine. The wine accents the flavor of the mushrooms and onions to give balance to the cayenne and tarragon. I used small Crimini mushrooms and substituted heavy cream for the half and half because I needed to use it up. DH loves mushrooms and now DH loves Michelle !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      I also used 2%fat evaporated milk instead of half and half and it turned out velvety,vreamy and de- licious.Also well appreciated by those sharing our meal.Thanks Michelle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      We really enjoyed this recipe. To make it lower in fat I used evaporated fat-free milk and the result was still delicious. I also didn't have any tarragon and used bay leaf to season. Good flavor! Also very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Fabulous flavor! I added a little bit more mushrooms than listed..... just to use them up. I loved the tarragon flavor. The consistency was perfect. Thanx for an excellent mushroom soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Very good! I tripled this recipe and I also sauteed 2 tablespoons fresh minced garlic with onion and mushrooms, I used 1 teaspoon crueshed chili flakes in place of cayenne, the dried tarragon was a wonderful addition to this soup, my DH enjoyed this thanks for sharing Michelle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      I doubled the recipe as I hate to dirty a pot for one day's soup! I only had whipping cream so I used it half and half with 1% milk. I didn't have the wine so left that out. The results were wonderful and so easy to make. For years I thought making soup was a huge production. This was so easy. We loved the tarragon taste. This recipe will be a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This is a delicious soup. We like to plan ahead so I quadrupled the batch. And for two of us, we didn't have much leftover! The only thing I'd say would be to cut the heavy half-and-half to milk at least. We like thick soup, but this was too rich for my hubby and my waistline. The tarragon and cayenne was the clincher for me - the best combo for mushrooms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Loved it. Great tasting and easy to make. The exact recipe was great. I also made it and tweaked it a bit in light of the earlier reviews by adding only pinch of cayenne and adding a little paprika. I also mixed in a little fat free half and half to cut the calories slightly. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Nicely flavored, easily put together soup. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      Watch out for the cayenne on this. I like spicy food, but this was borderline too hot, and definitely over the top for my dinner guests. I increased this recipe for 8 servings but ended up with barely enough for 5 first-course servings. I won't say I wouldn't make it again, but will continue in my search for the perfect mushroom soup, especially for dinner parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zesty Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.4
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    60%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 37.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 841.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes